WTC Final: R Ashwin, Ravindra Jadeja to feature in playing XI; Siraj misses out

Somya Kapoor

Somya Kapoor

Author| Jun 17, 1:58 PM

Photo Credits: Twitter
Photo Credits: Twitter

The Indian team has announced the playing XI for the Final of the inaugural World Test Championship slated to take place in Southampton from June 18 against New Zealand.  

The side has picked Ishant Sharma, Mohammed Shami and Jasprit Bumrah as the front line pacers while Ravichandran Ashwin and Ravindran Jadeja have been also made the cut.

As it was earlier announced, Rohit Sharma and youngster Shubman Gill will open the innings for India while the middle-order will have the likes of Cheteshwar Pujara, captain Virat Kohli, Ajinkya Rahane and Rishabh Pant. 

Jadeja and Ashwin are the two specialised spinners in this lineup and they would also provide the batting depth. 

Fast bowler Mohammed Siraj who was one of the star performers in Australia for the team has unfortunately missed out. The team management is backing upon the experience for this final clash.  

Gill and Pant have proved their worth in Australia after the two played a vital role in India's triumph during the tour Down Under. 


  • Ravindra Jadeja
  • Virat Kohli
  • Ravichandran Ashwin
  • Rishabh Pant
  • Mohammad Shami
  • IND
  • NZ
  • WTC
  • WTC Final 2021
  • The Rose Bowl, Southampton

Share News On

Read Next

More News