Aakash Saini ∙ Jan 6 2023, 7:00 PM

Rony Talukdar lays roadmap for Rangpur Riders’ thumping win over Victorians

image-lcksu542Rony Talukdar plays a shot (Source: BCB)

The Rangpur Riders trumped over defending champions Comilla Victorians to register their opening points of the ongoing BPL 2023 season. Riders’ opener Rony Talukdar unfurled the innings of the contest and was fittingly adjudged as ‘Player of the Match’ for his efforts.

Talukdar, Sikandar Raza drive Riders to big win

Rony Talukdar served as the aggressor in his 84-run opening stand with Mohammad Naim. The cricketer faced 31 deliveries to list 67 and clubbed 11 boundaries and a six in his entertaining innings. T20 warhorse Shoaib Malik also scored handy runs in the death as the Riders posted 176-5 off their 20 overs.

Comilla Victorians lost opener Litton Das early in the run-chase while English import Dawid Malan failed to get going as well. Captain Imrul Kayes’ 35 remained the highest score of the innings and his dismissal triggered a staggering collapse for his side.

The Victorians added just 27 runs for their final seven wickets as they fell 34 runs shy of their task.

Riders’ pacer Rony Talukdar inflicted the most damage through his three-fer, alongside Zimbabwean all-rounder Sikandar Raza.

Brief scores:

Rangpur Riders: 176-5 (20)

Rony Talukdar 67 (31), Shoaib Malik 33 (26)
Mosaddek Hossain 1-13, Khushdil Shah 1-25

Comilla Victorians: 142 (19.1)

Imrul Kayes 35 (23), Jaker Ali 19 (13)
Hasan Mahmud 3-20, Sikandar Raza 2-23

Rangpur Riders won by 34 runs.

Also Read: Jay Shah-Najam Sethi at loggerheads over "unilateral" decision of announcing Asia Cup schedule