Kaushik Kashyap ∙ Oct 1 2022, 1:30 AM

Quaid-e-Azam Trophy Round-up: September 27-30

image-l8ounp4bQuaid-e-Azam Round 1 (PC: Twitter)

Pakistan’s premier domestic first-class tournament Quaid-e-Azam Trophy got off to a great start as it completed its first set of matches in Rawalpindi, Faisalabad and Abbottabad between September 27th to 30th. Let’s take a quick review of what transpired.

Balochistan vs Khyber Pakhtunkhwa

Balochistan beat defending champions Khyber Pakhtunkhwa comprehensively by 134 runs in the first round at Abbottabad Cricket Stadium.

While chasing 370 in the fourth innings, Khyber Pakhtunkhwa got bowled out for 235 in just 68.5 overs, courtesy to an excellent bowling performance from Balochistan on the final day.

Sahibzada Farhan and Kamran Ghulam top-scored with 63 and 61. Khurram Shahzad was the pick of the bowlers and finished with a 3-61.

Earlier, after being asked to bat first, Balochistan put on a formidable total of 473 in the first innings with five of their batters making half centuries. Arshad Iqbal continued to impress as he finished with a 4-fer and was KPK’s best bowler in the first innings.

In reply, KPK could manage 291 with Kamran Ghulam scoring his tenth first-class century. On the back of a 182-run lead in the first innings, Asad Shafiq and his men came all guns blazing on day 4, declaring on 187/5 and setting Khyber Pakhtunkhwa an unlikely 370 to win.

Result: Balochistan won by 134 runs

Northern vs Southern Punjab

image-l8oufblbAbdul Faseeh (PC: Twitter)

Abdul Faseeh and Mubasir Khan's centuries helped Northern to start their campaign with a win 10-wicket win over Southern Punjab at Iqbal Stadium in Faisalabad.

Last year's runner's up, Northern were set eight runs to win in the fourth innings, which they did in just 1.3 overs and secured 25 points from the first round.

After electing to bat first, Northern batters got the most out of the batting conditions, scoring a mammoth 529 for the loss of five in their first innings. 19-year-old Abdul Faseeh scored his maiden first-class century, followed by an unbeaten 170 from Mubasir Khan.

In reply, Zain Abbas scored a brilliant century but it proved to be not enough as Southern Punjab could only manage 269 in their first innings and were asked to follow on. Northern's captain Nauman Ali led from the front, taking a 4 for 73 to help the team get a 260-run lead in the first innings.

Hasan Ali and his men did fight back in the second innings, with half centuries from Usman Salahuddin (55) and Imran Rafiq (90) but failed to carry the momentum as they were limited from 217 for 4 to 226 for 8 courtesy to Mehran Mumtaz and Musa Khan, who finished with three wickets each.

Southern Punjab got bowled out for 265, setting a target of 8 for Northern in the fourth innings.

Result: Northern won by 10-wickets Khyber Pakhtunkhwa 

Sindh vs Central Punjab

image-l8oudoxsAbdullah Shafique (PC: Twitter)

The first round match between Sindh and Central Punjab ended in a draw at Rawalpindi Cricket Stadium in Rawalpindi.

Abdullah Shafique was the star of the match, making his maiden double century, while Fawad Alam and Tayyab Tahir scored centuries as well.

Setting an unlikely target of 338 for Sindh on the final day, Central Punjab could only manage 4 wickets with 132 on the board and the game ended in a draw.

Earlier, after being asked to bat first, Central Punjab managed a formidable 428 in the first innings. Pakistan opener Abdullah Shafique scored his maiden double century (232) which was more than 50% of CP’s first innings’ total.

In reply, Fawad Alam scored his 42nd first-class century and Sindh managed 368 on the board in their first innings.

On the back of a 60-run lead, CP had a disastrous start to their second innings with four wickets down for just 59 on the board. However, Tayyab Tahir and Abdullah Shafique had a match saving partnership for the fifth wicket, with Tahir went on to score an unbeaten 152. And Central Punjab declared the innings at 277 for 9.

Result: Match ended in a draw

Also Read: Babar Azam becomes the first batter from Pakistan to score 3000 T20I runs