#OTD in 2007 | Top four batters scored centuries for the first time in Test Cricket history

Tejas Rathi

Tejas Rathi

Author| May 25, 3:53 PM

PC: Twitter/@ICC
PC: Twitter/@ICC

On this day in 2007, the top four batters of the Indian team smashed respective centuries to claim a unique record in a Test fixture against Bangladesh at Mirpur. 

This was the second Test fixture of the series, with the first one ending as a draw. However, the home team elected to field first on a flat surface, which turned out to be a wrong decision. 

For India, Wasim Jaffer and Dinesh Karthik started the innings. In the first Test, Jaffer was out on a duck in both the innings, and Karthik had hit fifty in one of the innings. 

Both the players were cautious with their approach and negated the new ball well. Karthik and Jaffer hit delightful shots all over the field with not enough pace and wicket-taking bowlers to put the Indian team in command. 

After the team got past the score of 100, Karthik charged against the spinners and broke the line lengths of the pacers as well. Then Jaffer followed his suit, and the team were at 175/0 in 53 overs until the end of the second session. 

Due to the heat and humidity, Karthik did not return to the field in the third session, and captain Rahul Dravid was the number three batter. Soon, Jaffer completed his century by a sublime shot through the long-on boundary. 

Jaffer, too, retired ill with 138 off 229 balls. At the end of Day 1, Dravid remained unbeaten on 88 and Tendulkar at 9*, and the team accumulated 326, with no loss of wickets. 

In the morning session of Day 2, Dravid brought up his 24th century with a stylish cover drive. The duo stitched a knock of 127 runs between them before Mohammad Rafique dismissed Dravid (129 off 176)

After that, Karthik came back at the crease and hit his maiden century. However, he was dismissed on 129 off 212 balls while Tendulkar was looking solid at the crease.

Soon after the next batter, Sourav Ganguly, was dismissed, Tendulkar finished his 37th century in the Test format. Then he continued to play well and remained unbeaten at 122, with Dhoni scoring 51* off 50 balls, and India declared on 610/3. 

In reply, Bangladesh were dismissed on a score of 118 & 253, and the visitors won the match by an innings & 239 runs and also secured a 1-0 victory in a 2-Test match series.  

The 'Player of the match' was Zaheer Khan, with seven wickets to his name, and Sachin Tendulkar was named 'Player of the Series' with 254 runs & three wickets. 

  • Sachin Tendulkar
  • Wasim Jaffer
  • Dinesh Karthik
  • Rahul Dravid
  • IND

Share News On

Read Next

More News