WTC final | ICC announces Michael Gough, Richard Illingworth as on-field umpires

Mayank Kumar

Mayank Kumar

Author| Jun 8, 9:31 AM

Image: Twitter
Image: Twitter

The International Cricket Council has announced the list of match officials for the World Test Championship final between India and New Zealand. 

As per the release, Englishman Chris Broad has been nominated Match Referee while Michael Gough and Richard Illingworth have been nominated as the on-field umpires. Richard Kettleborough has been appointed the third umpire while Alex Wharf has been designated as the fourth umpire for the iconic clash scheduled to take place in Southampton from June 18.

“We are pleased to announce an experienced team of match officials for the final of the World Test Championship. It has not been an easy time with the pandemic, but we are fortunate to have a group of officials at the top of their field who have been consistent over the years in this momentous fixture. We wish them all the very best,” ICC Senior Manager – Umpires and Referees, Adrian Griffith said in the  ICC statement.

Indian team has reached Southampton for the WTC final while New Zealand are playing the hosts England in a Test series before they will travel to Southampton for the marquee clash. 

There are huge expectations among fans and pundits about the WTC final as both Virat Kohli and Kane Williamson have spoken of their confidence leading up to the final.

  • WTC Final 2021
  • WTC
  • Richard Illingworth
  • Richard Kettleborough
  • Chris Broad
  • Michael Gough

Share News On

Read Next

More News