WBBL 2021| Perth Scorchers crowned champions after scintillating win against Adelaide Strikers

Somya Kapoor

Somya Kapoor

Author| Nov 27, 11:43 AM

Photo Credits: Twitter
Photo Credits: Twitter

Perth Scorchers were crowned the champions of WBBL 2021 after they defeated Adelaide Strikers by 12 runs in Perth on Saturday, 27 November. Chasing a target of 147, the Adelaide side had a disappointing start to the proceedings and lost a couple of early wickets before Laura Wolvaardt and Tahlia McGrath joined hands to steady the ship for the side. 

The two batters put 65 runs for the third wicket before McGrath was sent back in the hut for a 29-ball 36. 

The skipper’s dismissal was followed by a few more wickets that pushed Adelaide on the back foot once again as they were reduced to 120/6 in the 19th over. The Strikers then needed 22 off the final over but could only manage to score 9 runs to eventually suffer a defeat. 

Taneale Peschel was the pick of the bowlers for Perth as she returned with two wickets for 23 runs in 4 overs. 

Earlier, in the day, Sophie Devine and Beth Mooney provided the Perth team with a steady start as the two put 53 runs on the board for the first wicket. But Mooney was sent back in the hut for 19 off 25 and her departure saw a fall of wickets at regular intervals before a late surge from Marizanne Kapp helped them put up a decent total of 146/5 in 20 overs. She remained unbeaten at 31 off 23. 

Later, Devine lauded Kapp’s batting efforts.”Champion teams do this (it's a collective effort), it's not about one or two people. The way Kapp batted out today, it was outstanding, the way she ran and the way she got those runs. So chuffed for the team as everyone has played their part throughout the season. They were running their twos and diving around, pretty proud of the team,” she said.  

  • PRSW
  • ADSW
  • WBBL 2021

Share News On

Read Next

More News