IRE vs SA | 1st T20I: Shamsi rattles Ireland batting as South Africa take 1-0 lead

Somya Kapoor

Somya Kapoor

Author| Jul 20, 7:54 AM

Photo Credits: Twitter
Photo Credits: Twitter

South Africa took a 1-0 lead in the three-match T20I series against Ireland in Dublin after beating the hosts by 33 runs in the first clash. Chasing 166, Ireland were restricted to 132/9 in 20 overs. 

Spinner Tabraiz Shamsi rattled the Irish batting line up and scalped a four-wicket haul while Lungi Ngidi and George Linde bagged a couple of wickets each. 

The home side began the proceedings in a disappointing manner after losing early wickets and never really looked in control. Ireland were struggling at 88/9 when Barry McCarthy and Joshua Little chipped in with some runs at the end of the innings. 

The two built an unbeaten partnership of 44 runs for the last wicket. McCarthy remained not out for 30 off 25 while Little scored 15* off 18. But their stand didn’t really help Ireland and the Andrew Balbirnie-led side lost the match eventually. Harry Tector top-scored for them with 36 off 34. 

Earlier, South Africa had a decent start to the innings but then lost their way in the middle overs and were reduced to 115/5 before David Miller along with Linde steadied the ship for the side. The two scored 28 runs for the sixth wicket before Linde departed for 10 off 13. 

Miller followed him soon and was dismissed for 28. But a late surge from Kagiso Rabada who notched up 19* off 9 helped the Proteas score 165/7 in 20 overs. 

South Africa captain Bavuma admitted that the side needed to score some more runs. 

“Would have like to get a bit more. I felt 180 was a par score, but we always backed our bowling. Super happy with the bowling. Bowling has been our strength and we hope it continues to be that way. It helps to have a mystery spinner in the line-up. Shamsi is able to control the middle overs. Linde striking in the powerplay was good,” he said. 

The two teams will now meet each other in the second encounter in Belfast on Thursday. 

  • Tabraiz Shamsi
  • Andrew Balbirnie
  • David Miller
  • George Linde
  • Donwell Hector
  • SA vs IRE 2021

Share News On

Read Next

More News