Netherlands ready for historic CWC Super League debut against Ireland; announce squad

Abhishek Singh

Abhishek Singh

Author| May 28, 7:52 AM

PC- Twitter
PC- Twitter

The Cricket Netherlands welcomed back their county superstars in Timm van der Gugten, Fred Klaassen and Brandon Glover to the national side for the first time post the pandemic ridden year as they get ready to play their first-ever Cricket World Cup Super League series against arch-rivals Ireland. Announcing a 15 man squad, head coach Ryan Campbell said that he believes his team would do great in this historic series. 

“Our first appearance in the much talked about Super League is no doubt the most important page in the Dutch Cricket History book,” said Campbell. “We hope to open this chapter with a really competitive series against our great friends and adversaries Ireland,” added the former Hongkong international. 

While Gugten is coming off a successful season with Glamorgan having picked 13 wickets and scored 131 runs with a batting average of 26.2 in six county games, Klassen too featured in two games for Kent’s first XI. Brandon Glover also toiled hard in Northamptonshire’s 2nd XI this county season and Cambell believes that the experiences of these players will come in handy for the Dutch side.  

“We welcome back Timm van der Gugten, Fred Klaassen and Brandon Glover from county duties and I expect them to form a potent fast bowling combination with Logan van Beek and Vivian Kingma, whose form has been outstanding so far this season,” said the 49-year-old. 

Musa Nadeem Ahmed, who has been one of the top performers in the Dutch domestic circuit with six wickets and 232 runs in the Topklasse’ seven games so far, has also found a place in the 15. 

“I’m extremely pleased to add Musa Nadeem to our long list of recent debutants. His form in the Topklasse has been outstanding as well as his hard work throughout our long hiatus from International Cricket due to Covid,” Campbell said about the 23-year-old Pakistan born leggie. 

For the first time ever the matches of the Dutch cricket team would be broadcast live and in Dutch commentary on a commercial television channel. The three ODI’s will be broadcasted live by Ziggo Sport. The tour begins first of the three ODIs on June 2 at Sportpark Maarschalkerweerd in Utrecht.

Squad: Pieter Seelaar (captain), Scott Edward, Max O’Dowd, Stephan Myburgh, Ben Cooper, Bas de Leede, Timm van der Gugten, Logan van Beek, Fred Klaassen, Philippe Boissevain, Vivian Kingma, Brandon Glover, Tobias Visée, Musa Nadeem Ahmad, Saqib Zulfiqar

Staff: Ryan Campbell (head coach), James Hilditch (Assistant coach & analyst), Gary Kirsten (Assistant coach), George Dunlop (Physio).

  • Timm van der Gugten
  • Brandon Glover
  • Fred Klaassen
  • NED
  • IRE
  • IRE vs NED 2021
  • Sportpark Maarschalkerweerd

Share News On

Read Next

More News