Shivani Shukla ∙ Aug 11 2022, 2:51 PM

Chethan LR, Rishi Bopanna star as Bengaluru outfox Mangalore by 35 Runs

A sensational rearguard half-century from Chethan LR followed by a clinical bowling performance from Rishi Bopanna powered Bengaluru Blasters to a comprehensive 35-run win over Mangalore United at Mysore on Thursday, August 11.

Defending the 187-run target, the left-hand quick Bopanna claimed four wickets as Mangalore United were reeling at 127 for seven before rain halted the play and VJD was brought in use to declare Bengaluru the winners.

Hadley Noronha's fifty went in vain

Mangalore United started the chase on a rousing note with M Hadley Noronha scoring a quickfire fifty. Nikin Jose aided him well from the other hand smashing, scoring 35 runs from 33 deliveries.

However, after the duo's departure, the United failed to recover and lost wickets at regular intervals. Noronha's 36-ball fifty was studded with four boundaries and two gigantic sixes.

With the ball, Rishi Bopanna hogged the headlines with his magnificent spell of 4-19 in four overs.

Chethan LR, Mayank Agarwal's Onslaught steers Bengaluru to 186

Earlier, the Bengaluru Blasters' batting innings began on a flyer with opener Chethan LR smashing a ferocious half-century and cobbling up a 73-run stand with Mayank Agarwal at the top.

The wicket-keeper batter performed as if he owned the stage, smashing four boundaries and five towering sixes en route to an unbeaten 39-ball 66. Chethan was well supported by skipper Mayank at the other end, who scored 44 runs off 20 balls himself.

The duo laid the perfect platform for the incoming batter but Mangalore United bowlers made a brilliant comeback in the middle and death overs restricting Mayank Agarwal led the side to 186 for 9 after 20 overs. For United, M Venkatesh, Amit Verma and Aneeshwar Gautam embezzled two wickets each.

Brief Score:

Bengaluru Blasters: 186/9 (20 Overs)

Chethan LR 66 (39), Mayank Agarwal 44 (20); Amit Verma 2-27 (4), Aneeshwar Gautam 2-18 (3)

Mangalore United: 129/7 (17.4 Overs)

M Hadley Noronha 50 (36), Nikin Jose 35 (30); Rishi Bopanna 4-19 (4)

Bengaluru Blasters won by 35 runs.