Nirmit Mehta ∙ Jun 29 2022, 8:26 AM

WI vs BAN: Rovman Powell appointed T20I vice-captain; Obed McCoy earns a recall

The West Indies selection committee has named the ODI and T20I squad for the upcoming series against Bangladesh. 

Rovman Powell has been appointed as the T20I vice-captain. The selection committee have made a few changes with one eye on the T20I World Cup to be held later this year.

The left-arm pacer Obed McCoy returns to the squad after a successful IPL stint with Rajasthan Royals. Shamarh Brooks, Alzarri Joseph, Keemo Paul and Devon Thomas are among the other personnel who mark their return to the 20-over side. 

Chief selector Desmond Haynes has outlined the rationale behind handing the promotion to Rovman Powell. The all-rounder has already captained his national side before, and with a view on the long-term future of the side, Haynes believes it was the right decision to make.

"We know Rovman's history. He has captained the West Indies before and is also the captain of his CPL franchise. Our role is to look at future leaders as well and we have identified a few, including him, who we will be putting through programmes to ensure we keep them involved in that aspect of cricket,” Haynes opined.

The former cricketer also opened up on the selection of Obed McCoy, who had a successful stint in England to back up his IPL performance. 

"McCoy has done exceptionally well in the IPL and enjoyed a successful stint in England as well, so we are confident that he is back to his best in terms of playing and fitness," Haynes added.

The ODI side will not undergo too many changes, as Gudakesh Motie remains the only addition to the side. However, Jason Holder will be among the notable absentees for the white-ball format, who has been allowed a rest to manage his workload. 

Recently appointed captain Nicholas Pooran will lead the hosts in a three-match T20I series, followed by a three-match ODI series. The Bangladesh tour concludes on July 16, with the final ODI being played in Guyana.

T20I Squad: Nicholas Pooran (Captain), Rovman Powell (Vice-Captain), Shamarh Brooks, Akeal Hosein, Alzarri Joseph, Brandon King, Kyle Mayers, Obed McCoy, Keemo Paul, Romario Shepherd, Odean Smith, Devon Thomas, Hayden Walsh Jr. Reserve: Dominic Drakes

ODI Squad: Nicholas Pooran (Captain), Shai Hope (Vice-Captain), Shamarh Brooks, Keacy Carty, Akeal Hosein, Alzarri Joseph, Brandon King, Kyle Mayers, Gudakesh Motie, Keemo Paul, Anderson Phillip, Rovman Powell, Jayden Seales.