• Home
  • Cricket News
  • Ipl 2024 Delhi Capitals Set To Replace Key Foreign Player With Jake Fraser Mcgurk Reports

IPL 2024 | Delhi Capitals Set To Replace Key Foreign Player With Jake Fraser-McGurk - Reports

Jake Fraser-McGurk has played two ODIs for Australia [X.com]Jake Fraser-McGurk has played two ODIs for Australia [X.com]

With the Indian Premier League (IPL) 2024 upon use, all franchises are busy making final-minute adjustments to their squad, which include selecting replacements for injured/unavailable players. 

While Delhi Capitals have been boosted by the arrival of Rishabh Pant, uncertainty over England's Harry Brook looms large over their head. However, as reported by Code Sports, DC are eying a replacement in the form of Australia's young talent Jake Fraser-McGurk, who is touted as the next big-time.

Capitals could also bring in Fraser-McGurk for the injured Jhye Richardson, who is unavailable due to an injury. Brook's availability remains questioned after the batter opted to sit out of England's five-Test tour of India citing personal reasons.

Delhi purchased Brook in the IPL 2024 auction last December for INR 4 crore after a poor season at Sunrisers Hyderabad (SRH) in 2023. Overall, in 11 IPL matches, Brook scored 190 runs, which include an unbeaten 100 as well.

Fraser-McGurk, 21, recently made his Australia ODI debut, and has already played two matches, scoring 51 runs, with a top-score of 41. A product of age-group cricket, Fraser-McGurk stared for Australia in ICC U19 World Cup scoring 118 runs in four matches, before a freak monkey-inflicted injured cut-short the batter tournament.

Fraser-McGurk has already played for franchises like Melbourne Renegades in Big Bash League (BBL) and Dubai Capitals in International League T20 (ILT20). In 37 T20s, the youngster has amassed 645 runs with three half-centuries.

Meanwhile, DC kickoff their IPL 2024 campaign against Punjab Kings (PKBS) on March 23. 

DC's squad for IPL 2024

Rishabh Pant (c), Pravin Dubey, David Warner, Vicky Ostwal, Prithvi Shaw, Anrich Nortje, Abishek Porel, Kuldeep Yadav, Axar Patel, Lungi Ngidi, Lalit Yadav, Khaleel Ahmed, Mitchell Marsh, Ishant Sharma, Yash Dhull, Mukesh Kumar, Harry Brook, Tristan Stubbs, Ricky Bhui, Kumar Kushagra, Rasikh Dar, Jhye Richardson, Sumit Kumar, Shai Hope, Swastik Chhikara.