Illingworth Returns As PCB Announces Match Officials For PSL 9

image-lsiy2ghiThe panel of Umpires has been announced for PSL 9 (

The Pakistan Cricket Board (PCB) has announced the panel of the match officials for the eagerly awaited 9th edition of the Pakistan Super League (PSL 9). Excitement brews as Lahore and Multan gear up to host 14 thrilling encounters from February 17 to 27, followed by Karachi and Rawalpindi taking the stage with 16 matches from February 28 to March 12.

The ICC Elite Panel of Umpires, boasting esteemed names like Richard Illingworth, Chris Gaffaney, Ahsan Raza, and Michael Gough, will spearhead the officiating responsibilities. Adding to the mix are national umpires including the three times ICC Umpire of the Year Aleem Dar, Tariq Rasheed, and Shozab Raza among others.

Richard Illingworth, ICC Umpire of the Year 2023, brings with him a wealth of experience having officiated in 48 PSL matches. Chris Gaffaney, Michael Gough, and Alex Wharf are joining him, each bringing their expertise to the field. Notably, Gaffaney will make his debut in the league.

Roshan Mahanama, with an impressive record of 97 matches as a match referee and a former member of the ICC Elite Panel of Match Referees, will lead the team of match referees. Alongside him, Ali Naqvi and Muhammad Javaid will ensure that the games are fair.

In the opening match between Lahore Qalandars versus Islamabad United at Lahore on 17th February seasoned umpires Aleem Dar and Michael Gough will officiate, supported by Tariq Rasheed as the TV umpire and Shozab Raza as reserved umpire. Match referee responsibilities will be handled by Muhammad Javaid.