Gargi Raut ∙ Oct 5 2022, 10:53 AM

#Dohrado7: OneCricket's own T20 World Cup promo video campaign 

image-l8vfy3enJoin the community campaign with #Dohrado7

#Dohrado7 A call to repeat the 2007 heroics 

As the ICC T20 World Cup 2022 approaches, OneCricket launches its very own World Cup campaign. Bringing a chance for you to connect to a cricket-fanatic community with #Dohrado7 and with it let's take a look at India's journey throughout the history of T20 World Cup. 

2021 - India crashed out with a humiliating loss to Pakistan and New Zealand

In the latest edition of the T20 WC, India exited at the Super 12 stage of the tournament after losing to Pakistan and New Zealand respectively. Hosted in the UAE, this was Virat Kohli's last appearance in the format as the captain, soon head coach Rahul Dravid was also replaced by Ravi Shastri. India's hopes slowly faded as they had a fallout after losing the first two matches and failed to secure a seat in the semi-finals. 

2016 - Lost at home in the Semi-Finals against the Windies

Perhaps the most painful exit of them all. The semi-final was brought down to the wire, with Virat Kohli bowling the final over, Windies took the win. It was also MS Dhoni's last appearance in a T20 World Cup. India started off horrendously with a humiliating loss against the Kiwis. Later India lost to the Windies by 7 wickets and handed them their second world title. 

2014 - The fumble in the finals!

So close yet so far, India lost to the Lankans in the finals. The Men in Blue had one hand on the trophy but failed to get a grip on it in the final moment. Kohli was awarded the 'Player of the Tournament'.  India hadn't lost a single game in this run of the tournament until the finals. All hopes were shattered as the Lankans chased down India's 131-run target in the 18th over with 6 wickets left to spare. 

2012 - Run-rate fiasco

Even after losing just one match, India failed to qualify for the knock-outs due to a poor net run-rate. Heartbreaking because India had defeated the likes of South Africa, England and Afghanistan. The Men in Blue couldn't make it to the semis despite defeating the Proteas by 1 run. India put a total of 152 on the scoreboard and had to restrict the opponents at 121 to qualify for the finals but failed to do so. 

2010 - India's calypso crumble!!

Hosted by the Windies, although India started off well with two consecutive wins, they lost the reins soon after. India were eliminated from the tournament in the league stage after losing to Australia, host West Indies and Sri Lanka. England defeated Australia to win their maiden T20 World Cup Trophy. 

2009 - The downhearted defence

India - the defending champions could not hold on to the title as it slipped out of their reach match by match. India exited the scene in the Super 8 stage after losing three consecutive matches against West Indies, England and South Africa. Runner-ups Pakistan went on to life the trophy. 

2007 - In the air.... and Sreesanth takes it!

With a young and fresh captain and an experienced team in tow India clinch the title. Defeating a world-class Australia in the semi-finals India reached the finals to defeat Pakistan in a thrilling bowl-out and lift the T20 World Cup. India won the finals in an exuberating match by 5 runs. 

Also Read: IND vs SA 2022: Team of the series