• Home
  • Match Hub
  • Abhishek Sharma Breaks Suresh Rainas Record Achieves This Feat With Scintillating Ton Vs Zim

Abhishek Sharma Breaks Suresh Raina's Record; Achieves 'This' Feat With Scintillating Ton Vs Zim

Abhishek smashed his first hundred in international cricket. (X.com)Abhishek smashed his first hundred in international cricket. (X.com)

After scoring a duck in the first game, swashbuckling opener Abhishek Sharma bounced back by smashing his maiden international century in the ongoing second T20I at the Harare Sports Club on July 7.

India had a rough start to their Zimbabwe tour, losing the first T20I by 13 runs. Indian skipper Shubman Gill won the toss and chose to bat first on a dry Harare pitch with an aim to capitalise on the batting conditions. 

India opened with Gill and Abhishek as Bennet began proceedings with the new ball for Zimbabwe. India got off to a blazing start, with Abhishek scoring his first runs in international cricket with a big six, making his aggressive intentions clear.

Although India lost Gill early, Abhishek, who couldn't score in his debut game, launched a counter-attack during the Powerplay. While Abhishek hammered the Zimbabwe bowlers, his partner Ruturaj Gaikwad played a supportive role. The duo added a century-plus stand, with Abhishek reaching his century off just 46 balls, including eight sixes and seven fours. All Zimbabwe bowlers, excluding Blessing Muzarabani, were taken to the cleaners by the Punjab-born Abhishek.

With this hundred, Abhishek has etched his name in the history books by becoming the 10th Indian to score a century in T20I cricket. He’s also only the third left-handed batter with a T20I ton for India. Not just that, he also broke Suresh Raina’s record for the highest score against Zimbabwe in T20Is.

Highest score for India vs ZIM in T20Is

  • Abhishek Sharma: 100
  • Suresh Raina: 72*
  • Suryakumar Yadav: 61*
  • Kedar Jadhav: 58
  • Mandeep Singh: 52*

Abhishek has joined an elite list of Indian T20I centurions, including Rohit Sharma, Suryakumar Yadav, KL Rahul, Suresh Raina, Virat Kohli, Deepak Hooda, Shubman Gill, Yashasvi Jaiswal, and Ruturaj Gaikwad. 

Only Rohit, Suryakumar, and Rahul have multiple T20I tons. Surely, Abhishek will add more to what appears to be a very long and successful career.