IPL Most Valuable Players List 

Virat Kohli and Shubman Gill have won the most valuable player award (x.com)Virat Kohli and Shubman Gill have won the most valuable player award (x.com)

The Indian Premier League (IPL) has transformed the landscape of cricket, particularly in the shortest format, since its inception in 2008. The platform has witnessed breathtaking performances from teams and players alike, captivating fans with its high-octane action.

One of the notable recognitions in the IPL is the Most Valuable Player (MVP) award, which has been a part of the tournament since its inaugural edition. Originally known as the 'Man of the Tournament' title, it was rebranded as the Most Valuable Player (MVP) award in 2013.

The MVP award is conferred upon the player who accumulates the highest number of fantasy points by the end of a given season. The scoring system is distinctive, as it assigns points for various cricketing actions such as boundaries, sixes, wickets, dot balls, catches, run-outs, and stumpings.

Let's take a look at the IPL Most Valuable Players List from 2008 to 2023: 

IPL - Most Valuable Players List

2008Shane Watson Rajasthan Royals
2009Adam Gilchrist Deccan Chargers
2010Sachin Tendulkar Mumbai Indians
2011Chris Gayle Royal Challengers Bangalore
2012Sunil Narine Kolkata Knight Riders
2013Shane Watson Rajasthan Royals
2014Glenn Maxwell Punjab Kings
2015Andre Russell Kolkata Knight Riders
2016Virat Kohli Royal Challengers Bangalore
2017 Ben Stokes Rising Pune Supergiant
2018Sunil Narine Kolkata Knight Riders
2019Andre Russell Kolkata Knight Riders
2020Jofra Archer Rajasthan Royals
2021Harshal Patel Royal Challengers Bangalore
2022Jos Buttler Rajasthan Royals
2023Shubman Gill Gujarat Titans
2024Sunil Narine
Kolkata Knight Riders

IPL Most Valuable Players List : Frequently Asked Questions

Q.1 Who is highest price player in IPL history?

Answer: IPL most expensive players Mitchell Starc made IPL history by becoming the costliest player ever, with Kolkata Knight Riders securing him for Rs 24.75 crore. He surpassed the brief record set by Pat Cummins, bought by Sunrisers Hyderabad for Rs 20.50 crore.19 Dec 2023. 

Q.2 What is the most valuable player points system in IPL?

Answer: According to the points system, every four hit is equal to 2.5 points. Every six hit and wicket taken is equal to 3.5 points each. Every dot ball bowled gets 1 point.

Q.3 How is MVP decided in IPL?

Answer: The MVP formula balances the importance of strike rates and advancing the game within shorter matches, with batting time and achieving above par scores in longer matches.

Q.4 Who will captain CSK in 2024?

Answer: MS Dhoni will lead CSK in the upcoming season of IPL. Dhoni is all set to lead Chennai in IPL 2024.