IPL Winners List

KKR won its third IPL title in 2024 under Shreyas Iyer (AP)KKR won its third IPL title in 2024 under Shreyas Iyer (AP)

The Indian Premier League (IPL) transcends its role as a mere cricket tournament; it has evolved into a cultural phenomenon, not only in India but also across the globe. Since its inception in 2008, the IPL has experienced exponential growth in popularity, captivating millions of viewers and enthusiasts annually. 

At the heart of this sporting extravaganza lies the intense competition among franchise teams, each fiercely contending for the prestigious title.

In the inaugural season of 2008, the Rajasthan Royals, under the leadership of Australian cricket legend Shane Warne, defied the odds to claim the championship. 

Subsequently, the IPL witnessed the emergence of various triumphant teams, each showcasing its mettle, strategic prowess, and unwavering consistency. 

The Chennai Super Kings and the Mumbai Indians stand out as dominant forces, having secured multiple titles over the years. Meanwhile, teams like the Kolkata Knight Riders and the Sunrisers Hyderabad have etched their names in IPL history through stellar performances.

Here's a comprehensive look at the IPL Winners List from 2008 to 2024:

IPL - Winners List

Winner Team
Runner Up
Won By
2008 Rajasthan Royals Chennai Super Kings 3 wickets Mumbai
2009 Deccan Chargers
Royal Challengers Bangalore6 runs
2010Chennai Super Kings Mumbai Indians 22 runs
2011Chennai Super Kings
Royal Challengers Bangalore58 runs
2012Kolkata Knight Riders Chennai Super Kings 5 wickets Chennai
2013Mumbai Indians Chennai Super Kings 23 runs Kolkata
2014Kolkata Knight Riders Kings XI Punjab3 wickets Bangalore
2015Mumbai Indians Chennai Super Kings41 runs Kolkata
2016Sunrisers Hyderabad Royal Challengers Bangalore 41 runs Bangalore
2017Mumbai Indians Rising Pune Supergiants1 run Hyderabad
2018Chennai Super Kings Sunrisers Hyderabad8 wickets Mumbai
2019Mumbai Indians Chennai Super Kings1 run Mumbai
2020Mumbai Indians Delhi Capitals 5 wickets Dubai
2021Chennai Super Kings Kolkata Knight Riders
27 runsDubai
2022Gujarat Titans Rajasthan Royals 7 wickets
2023Chennai Super Kings Gujarat Titians5 wickets Ahmedabad
2024Kolkata Knight RidersSunrisers Hyderabad8 wicketsChennai

IPL Winners List: Frequently Asked Questions

Q. Who won the IPL trophy in 2024?

A. In 2024, the Kolkata Knight Riders emerged victorious, defeating the Sunrisers Hyderabad by 8 wickets in the final held in Chennai.

Q. Which IPL team has won most trophies?

A. The Mumbai Indians and the Chennai Super Kings are the two most successful franchises of the tournament. The Mumbai Indians have clinched the title five times under the leadership of Rohit Sharma, while the Chennai Super Kings have also won the title five times under the captaincy of MS Dhoni.

Q. How many IPL did CSK win?

A. CSK, short for Chennai Super Kings, has won 5 IPL titles since the inception of the tournament.

Q. Who is RCB 2024 captain?

A. The captain of Kolkata Knight Riders (KKR) for the 2024 season was Shreyas Iyer.