• Home
  • Cricket News
  • Yastika Bhatia Pooja Vastrakar And Humaira Kazi Join Mumbai Indians Wpl 2024 Training Camp

Yastika Bhatia, Pooja Vastrakar And Humaira Kazi Join Mumbai Indians WPL 2024 Training Camp

image-lsixkxvaMumbai Indians won the inaugural WPL season in 2023 (BCCI)

Star Indian players Yastika Bhatia, Pooja Vastrakar and Humaira Kazi joined Mumbai Indians preparatory camp on February 12; i.e., roughly a couple of weeks prior to the WPL 2024 season. The three cricketers took to the nets for an intense training session as part of their pre-season schedule.

The WPL 2024 season itself is scheduled to commence from February 23 onwards in Bengaluru, where defending champions Mumbai Indians will be taking on Delhi Capitals in the tournament opener.

Mumbai Indians trio commence WPL 2024 training

Mumbai Indians wicketkeeper-batter Yastika Bhatia and bowling all-rounders Pooja Vastrakar and Humaira Kazi joined the Mumbai Indians camp as part of their WPL 2024 preparations. The trio started off with fielding drills and workout sessions before taking to the nets under the supervision of the coaching staff.

Mumbai Indians batting coach and former cricketer Devieka Palshikaar said that the players were given a choice at the session to work on any specific shot. 

“The players got a choice today at the session with range hitting and any specific shot they want to work on. Some of them play a finisher’s role like Pooja, Amanjot, Sajana and Kaazi, so we focused on range hitting," Devieka said ahead of WPL 2024.

Mumbai Indians, also the defending champions, will launch their WPL 2024 campaign in the tournament opener itself by going up against last year’s runners-up Delhi Capitals. While the first 11 matches of the tournament will be staged at Bengaluru’s M Chinnaswamy Stadium, the action will subsequently shift to the Arun Jaitley Stadium in New Delhi for the backend fixtures.

Ahead of the WPL 2024 season, here is a look at the entire squad composition of the Mumbai Indians setup.

Mumbai Indians Women WPL 2024 squad

Harmanpreet Kaur (c), Amanjot Kaur, Amelia Kerr, Chloe Tryon, Hayley Matthews, Humaira Kazi, Issy Wong, Jintimani Kalita, Nat Sciver-Brunt, Pooja Vastrakar, Priyanka Bala, Saika Ishaque, Yastika Bhatia, Shabnim Ismail, S Sajana, Amandeep Kaur, Fatima Jaffer and Keerthana Balakrishnan.