• Home
  • Cricket News
  • Csk Stars Mi Maestro Make The Cut As Sl Announce T20i Squad For Afg Series

CSK Stars, MI Maestro Make The Cut As SL Announce T20I Squad For AFG Series

image-lsivqr04Charith Asalanka to continue as Sri Lanka's vice-captain in T20Is vs AFG (AP)

The Sri Lanka Cricket (SLC) selection committee has announced their 16-member squad for the upcoming T20I series against Afghanistan. Wanindu Hasaranga, who was appointed as Sri Lanka’s T20I captain earlier this year, is set to assume his leadership role alongside deputy Charith Asalanka.

The selection committee recalled Binura Fernando back into the national setup as a like-for-like replacement for injured Dushmantha Chameera. The first of the three T20Is is set to be played on February 17 in Dambulla.

SLC announce Sri Lanka squad for T20I series

On February 12, SLC’s selection committee announced Sri Lanka’s 16-player squad for the T20I series against Afghanistan. Set to be led by charismatic bowling all-rounder Wanindu Hasaranga, the team features a number of senior players in the form of Angelo Mathews, Dhananjaya De Silva and former captain Dasun Shanaka.

Binura Fernando, who played his last international match back in October 2022 against Australia, received a return call-up to the national side as a replacement for injured fast bowler Dushmantha Chameera. Earlier in the week, Chameera was ruled out of the remainder of the series against Afghanistan owing to a quadriceps injury.

Here is a look at Sri Lanka’s entire squad for the T20Is against Afghanistan:

Wanindu Hasaranga (captain), Charith Asalanka (vice-captain), Pathum Nissanka, Kusal Mendis, Dhananjaya De Silva, Kusal Janith Perera, Angelo Mathews, Dasun Shanaka, Maheesh Theekshana, Binura Fernando, Matheesha Pathirana, Dilshan Madushanka, Nuwan Thushara, Akila Dananjaya, Kamindu Mendis and Sadeera Samarawickrama.

Sri Lanka and Afghanistan will collide in a three-match T20I rubber between February 17 and February 21. Each of the three fixtures, also serving as a 2024 T20 World Cup prelude for both sides, will be staged at the iconic Rangiri Dambulla International Stadium.

Prior to the planned T20Is, Sri Lanka trounced Afghanistan by 10 wickets in their one-off Test and also won the first couple of ODIs to seal the 50-overs series with a game to spare.