'Gautam Gambhir Deserves...' - IPL Winner Demands Respects For KKR Mentor

image-lsix2riuGautam Gambhir with KKR boys (x.com)

Former Kolkata Knight Riders (KKR) batsman Manvinder Bisla has credited ex-skipper Gautam Gambhir for injecting much success into the franchise through his past leadership stint. As a captain, Gambhir led the KKR to their only two title wins, back when they won the 2012 and 2014 editions of the tournament.

KKR is yet to replicate their twin success ever since Gambhir opted himself out of the KKR outfit to join Delhi Daredevils (now Delhi Capitals) for the 2018 season.

Bisla credits Gautam Gambhir for KKR’s success

Manvinder Bisla, who himself was a key KKR figure during their 2012 and 2014 IPL title victories, has credited former skipper Gautam Gambhir for all their past success. 

“I was in KKR for 4 years and we won the title twice when he was the captain. Gautam Gambhir deserves a huge credit for that,” Bisla told Outlook.

Manvinder Bisla, who recently played the Legends League Cricket against Gautam Gambhir’s India Capitals, also hailed KKR’s decision of bringing back their ex-captain, albeit in a new role for the forthcoming IPL 2024 season.

A few months ago, the KKR management announced Gambhir as their new mentor going ahead as they aim to revive their dwindling fortunes from the last couple of seasons. As per Bisla, bringing back the KKR legend is a “positive step” from the franchise.

“The way he managed the team at that time was commendable and I think it’s a positive step from KKR. Bringing back Gautam Gambhir in the mentorship role is a good step as the team has achieved the highest success under his leadership,” he added.

The IPL 2024 season is set to commence sometime in late-March. The KKR franchise retained several of their star performers, including captain Shreyas Iyer and West Indies T20 stalwarts Sunil Narine and Andre Russell on IPL 2024 retention day last November and also made further additions to their composition the following month at the auction.

Ahead of the IPL 2024 season, here is a look at KKR’s entire squad for the tournament.

KKR Squad for IPL 2024: 

Shreyas Iyer (C), Nitish Rana, Rahmanullah Gurbaz, Venkatesh Iyer, Andre Russell, Sunil Narine, Shardul Thakur, Umesh Yadav, Tim Southee, Harshit Rana, Varun Chakravarthy, Anukul Roy, Rinku Singh, Narayan Jagadeesan, Vaibhav Arora, Suyash Sharma, David Wiese, Kulwant Khejroliya, Liton Das, Mandeep Singh and Jason Roy.