What Happened When India Last Faced Zimbabwe in T20Is?

INDvsZIM- X.comINDvsZIM- X.com

On Saturday, July 6, India will take on Zimbabwe in the first of a five-match T20I series at the Harare Sports Club. The BCCI has named a second-string team for the upcoming away tour, as the senior players have recently returned from Barbados, while Virat Kohli, Rohit Sharma, and Ravindra Jadeja have taken retirement. 

Shubman Gill will lead the fresh-looking Indian side. It is after nearly two years that the Men in Blue will lock horns against Zimbabwe in a T20I game. The last time they met was during the 2022 T20 World Cup. Let's Check out what happened when India last faced Zimbabwe in T20Is. 

India vs Zimbabwe, T20 World Cup 2022

It was the Melbourne Cricket Ground (MCG) that hosted the two teams in the Super 12 round where the Rohit Sharma-led side won by a comfortable 71-run margin. 

The Men in Blue won the toss and elected to bat first. They lost the skipper early, but Suryakumar Yadav and KL Rahul's fifty helped India put 186 runs on the board. 

In reply, Zimbabwe's wicket fell like dominos and tumbled for just 115 runs. Mohammed Shami and Hardik Pandya took two wickets each but R Ashwin was the star with the ball for his three-wicket haul. 

In the end, Suryakumar Yadav won the player of the match award for his unbeaten 61 (25), which featured six fours and four sixes. However, SKY is not a part of the present T20I squad.

Here Is India's Current Squad For Zimbabwe Tour

Shubman Gill (captain), Ruturaj Gaikwad, Abhishek Sharma, Rinku Singh, Dhruv Jurel (wk), Riyan Parag, Washington Sundar, Ravi Bishnoi, Avesh Khan, Khaleel Ahmed, Mukesh Kumar, Tushar Deshpande, Sai Sudharsan, Jitesh Sharma (wk), Harshit Rana.