• Home
  • Cricket News
  • Suryakumar Yadav Praises Ruturaj Gaikwad Discards Shubman Gills 66 After Indias Win Vs Zim

Suryakumar Yadav Praises Ruturaj Gaikwad, Discards Shubman Gill’s 66 After India’s Win Vs ZIM

Ruturaj Gaikwad and Shubman Gill shared 72 runs for the third wicket (BCCI)Ruturaj Gaikwad and Shubman Gill shared 72 runs for the third wicket (BCCI)

Team India dashed hosts Zimbabwe by 23 runs at the Harare Sports Club in the third T20I to go 2-1 up in the five-match series. Captain Shubman Gill laid out the foundation of India’s win at the top by scoring 66 runs from just 49 balls. 

Number four batter Ruturaj Gaikwad also smacked an imperial 28-ball 49 in the death overs to set up India’s 182-run total upfront.

Later in the Zimbabwean chase, Washington Sundar picked up figures of 3-15 to bag the ‘Player of the Match’ award.

Notably, after the match, T20I superstar Suryakumar Yadav took to his Instagram account to share a special praise for Ruturaj Gaikwad

As it turned out, the 33-year-old did not do the same for captain Shubman, who unfurled the innings of the match through his boundary-filled 66-run knock.

Suryakumar Yadav centers Gaikwad’s 49 over Shubman’s 66

Shortly after India completed their 23-run win over Zimbabwe, senior and ‘rested’ batter Suryakumar Yadav took to his Instagram story to share a special praise for Ruturaj Gaikwad for scoring a rapid 28-ball 49. 

Interestingly, Suryakumar did not put a similar story for Indian captain Shubman Gill, who top-scored for India with 66 runs from 49 deliveries at the top of the order.

Batting first, Team India stacked up 182-4 from 20 overs. Shubman Gill and Ruturaj Gaikwad shared 72 runs together for the third wicket following the successive dismissals of Yashasvi Jaiswal and Abhishek Sharma. 

Gill and Gaikwad’s alliance also took India past the 150-run mark, before Sanju Samson blasted a couple of handy hits in the death overs.

Washington Sundar (3-15) and fast bowlers Khaleel Ahmed and Avesh Khan restricted Zimbabwe to just 159-6 to secure a 23-run win for the ‘Men in Blue’. India and Zimbabwe will now face each other in the fourth T20I of the series on July 13.