• Home
  • Cricket News
  • Namibia Announces 15 Man Squad For T20 World Cup Gerhard Erasmus To Lead

Namibia Announces 15-Man Squad For T20 World Cup, Gerhard Erasmus To Lead

Namibia announced their 15 man squad for their third consecutive T20 WC (X)Namibia announced their 15 man squad for their third consecutive T20 WC (X)

African side Namibia has announced their squad for the T20 World Cup and they had omitted the inform all rounder Nicol Loftie-Eaton from the squad. 

In 2021, Nambibia managed to make it to Super 12 after finishing second in the group stage but failed to do so in 2022 World Cup.

Namibia, one of the 20 participating teams in the T20 World Cup, will compete in the tournament scheduled to start in June in the USA and the West Indies. 

They are placed in Group B alongside Australia, England, Oman, and Scotland. Namibia had announced their 15-man squad for the T20 World Cup.

All rounder Gerhard Erasmus has been named as the skipper of the Namibia team for the world Cup. He will be leading the talented crew of Namibia who will compete in the ninth edition of T20 world Cup.

Namibia has been qualified after being unbeaten in the African qualifiers. JJ Smit is the vice captain of Namibian team.

Loftie-Eaton dropped? 

Namibia had an excellent run in the World Cup qualifiers and out of the 15 players that participated in the qualifiers 12 will play in the World Cup as well. 

All-rounder Nicol Loftie-Eaton the biggest omission alongside veteran Pikky Ya France and young batter Shawn Fouche.  He had scored the fastest T20 century earlier this year.

For these players they bought young prodigies who were a part of Namibia team who played this year's u-19 world Cup. 

Dylan Leicher, left-arm quick Ruben Trumpelmann and teenage pacer Jack Brassell are the players who'll join the squad of Namibia for the T20 world Cup.

Namibia squad for the T20 WC

Namibia Squad: Gerhard Erasmus (c), Zane Green, Michael Van Lingen, Dylan Leicher, Ruben Trumpelmann, Jack Brassell, Ben Shikongo, Tangeni Lungameni, Niko Davin, JJ Smit, Jan Frylinck, JP Kotze, David Wiese, Bernard Scholtz, Malan Kruger, PD Blignaut