West Indies T20 Captain

West Indies have been a force to be reckoned with in T20 cricket (x.com)West Indies have been a force to be reckoned with in T20 cricket (x.com)

The West Indies team, with its flair and distinctive style, has made a significant mark on the T20 international scene. Over the years, various captains have led the team, each bringing their own approach to the fast-paced game.

All T20 Captains of West Indies

From Shivnarine Chanderpaul in the early days of T20 internationals to the current captaincy of Rovman Powell, the leadership of the West Indies T20 team has been as dynamic as the cricket they play.

In this article, we take a look at the captains who have helmed the West Indies T20I side and how they have performed, and what their captaincy stats look like in this exciting format of cricket.

West Indies’ T20 Captains 2005-2024

Tied/No Result
Win Percentage
Shivnarine Chanderpaul1001/00.00
Chris Gayle176101/035.29
Ramnaresh Sarwan2020/00.00
Dwayne Bravo6330/050.00
Denesh Ramdin3120/033.33
Floyd Reifer1100/0100.00
Daren Sammy4727171/257.44
Carlos Brathwaite3011170/236.66
Jason Mohammed3
Jason Holder3030/00.00
Kieron Pollard3913210/533.33
Nicholas Pooran23
Rovman Powell171070/058.82

Most Successful T20 Captain of West Indies

Darren Sammy is the most successful West Indies T20I captain (AP Photo)Darren Sammy is the most successful West Indies T20I captain (AP Photo)

Daren Sammy, the charismatic former West Indies skipper, is recognized as the most successful T20 captain for the West Indies, with a win percentage of 57.44%.

Under his captaincy from 2011 to 2016, Sammy led the team in 47 matches, securing 27 wins and achieving significant milestones, including two T20 World Cup titles in 2012 and 2016.

His leadership was not just about numbers but also about his ability to inspire confidence and unity in the team, qualities that propelled the West Indies to their T20 successes.

Sammy is currently the West Indies head coach in the T20 format and he is looking to help his side win the T20 World Cup 2024 that the Caribbean is co-hosting with the USA. 

He also has a brilliant captain in Rovman Powell who has the highest winning percentage as West Indies T20I captain (minimum 10 matches) with 58.82% as the duo will look to combine and guide the team to their third T20 title.

All T20 Captains of West Indies: FAQ's

Q.1. Who is the best T20 player of West Indies?

Answer: Chris Gayle is regarded as one of the best T20 players from the West Indies, known for his explosive batting and record-setting performances.

Q.2. Who is the captain of the West Indies T20 Team 2024?

Answer: Rovman Powell is the captain of the West Indies T20 team in 2024.

Q.3. Who was the captain of the West Indies T20 World Cup winners?

Answer: Darren Sammy was the captain during the West Indies' T20 World Cup victories in 2012 and 2016.

Q.4. Who is the best captain of West Indies?

Answer: Clive Lloyd is often considered the best captain of West Indies, known for leading the team to two ODI World Cup victories in 1975 and 1979.

Q.5. How many times has West Indies won the T20 World Cup?

Answer: West Indies has won the T20 World Cup twice, in 2012 and 2016.