India T20 Captain

Team India has had some exceptional captains in T20I cricket (Twitter)Team India has had some exceptional captains in T20I cricket (Twitter)

The T20 format, renowned for its brisk pace and high entertainment value, has been a major facet of cricket since the mid-2000s. For India, a cricket-loving nation with a plethora of talent, leadership in this format has evolved significantly.

All T20 Captains of India

Beginning in 2006, various players have taken on the captaincy mantle, each leaving a unique stamp on the team's dynamics and performance. From MS Dhoni's leadership in India's victorious T20 World Cup 2007 campaign to the dynamic and sharp captaincy of Rohit Sharma into 2024, each captain has contributed to shaping the team’s journey in the international T20 arena.

Over the years, Indian captains have excelled in these aspects, adapting their strategies to both the opposition and the conditions, often shifting the course of games within a few overs.

Indian T20 Captains 2006-2024

Tied/No Result
Win Percentage
Virender Sehwag1100/0100.00
MS Dhoni7241281/056.94
Suresh Raina3300/0100.00
Ajinkya Rahane2110/050.00
Virat Kohli5030160/260.00
Rohit Sharma5441120/075.92
Shikhar Dhawan3120/033.33
Rishabh Pant5220/140.00
Hardik Pandya161050/062.50
KL Rahul1100/0
Jasprit Bumrah2200/0100.00
Ruturaj Gaikwad3200/166.66
Suryakumar Yadav7520/071.42

Most Successful T20 Captain of India 

Rohit Sharma is India's most successful captain in T20IsRohit Sharma is India's most successful captain in T20Is

Among all the captains, Rohit Sharma emerges as the most successful T20 captain for India. He has led the team in 54 matches, securing 41 victories. This translates to a win percentage of 75.92%, the highest among all his predecessors and contemporaries.

Rohit's captaincy has been marked by a proactive approach to game management, exceptional understanding of the players' strengths, and tactical innovations that often turned matches in India's favour.

Under his leadership, the team not only achieved significant victories but also showcased an excellent and adaptive style of play, making the most of the strategic elements of T20 cricket. He is set to lead India once again in the T20 World Cup 2024 which is slated to take place in West Indies and the USA in June.

All T20 Captains of India: FAQ's

Q.1. Who was India's first T20 captain?

Answer: Virender Sehwag was India's first T20 captain in 2006.

Q.2. Which Indian T20 captain has the highest win percentage?

Answer: Rohit Sharma has the highest win percentage with 75.92%.

Q.3. How many captains has India had in T20Is as of 2024?

Answer: India has had 13 different captains in T20Is as of 2024.

Q.4. Who has captained India the most times in T20Is?

Answer: MS Dhoni has captained India the most times in T20Is, with 72 matches.

Q.5. Has any Indian T20 captain had a perfect win record?

Answer: Yes, several captains like Virender Sehwag, Suresh Raina, KL Rahul, and Jasprit Bumrah have a 100% win record, though they captained in only a few matches.