South Africa T20 Captain

Aiden Markram will lead SA in T20 World Cup 2024 ( Markram will lead SA in T20 World Cup 2024 (

South Africa have seen a variety of captains guide their T20 side since the format's inception, each leaving a unique stamp on the team's history.

All T20 Captains of South Africa

From the foundational leadership of Graeme Smith to the innovative approaches of Faf du Plessis and the current strategies under Aiden Markram, South Africa's captains have reflected a diverse set of leadership qualities and tactical approaches.

These leaders have steered through the highs and lows of match outcomes, underpinning their strategies with adaptability and insight.

In this article, we take a look at how each South Africa T20 captain's approach has shaped the team’s competitive edge on the international stage.

South Africa’s T20 Captains 2005-2024

Tied/No Result
Win Percentage
Graeme Smith2718190/066.66
Shaun Pollock1010/00.00
Johan Botha11830/072.72
Hashim Amla2110/050.00
AB de Villiers18890/144.44
Faf du Plessis3723131/062.16
JP Duminy11650/054.54
Justin Ontong1100/0100.00
Farhaan Behardien3120/033.33
David Miller6420/066.66
Quinton de Kock11380/027.27
Heinrich Klaasen7250/028.57
Temba Bavuma251590/160.00
Keshav Maharaj5400/180.00
Aiden Markram8260/025.00

Most Successful T20 Captain of South Africa

Botha has highest win percentage for SA T20I captains with at least 10 matches ( has highest win percentage for SA T20I captains with at least 10 matches (

Johan Botha stands out as South Africa's most successful T20 captain (minimum 10 matches), with a win percentage of 72.72%.

Leading the team from 2008 to 2012, Botha captained the Proteas in 11 matches and secured eight wins. His leadership was highlighted by brilliant tactics and an ability to remain calm under pressure.

Botha's era included memorable victories that highlighted his capability to harness the team's collective strengths and adapt strategies effectively against various opponents.

All T20 Captains of South Africa: FAQ's

Q.1. Who is the captain of South Africa in the T20 World Cup 2024?

Answer: Aiden Markram is the captain of South Africa for the T20 World Cup 2024.

Q.2. Who is the captain of South Africa in ODI?

Answer: Temba Bavuma serves as the captain for South Africa in ODI format.

Q.3. Who is in the T20 squad for South Africa in 2024?

Answer: The T20 squad for South Africa in 2024 includes: Aiden Markram (c), Ottniel Baartman, Gerald Coetzee, Quinton de Kock, Bjorn Fortuin, Reeza Hendricks, Marco Jansen, Heinrich Klaasen, Keshav Maharaj, David Miller, Anrich Nortje, Kagiso Rabada, Ryan Rickelton, Tabraiz Shamsi, Tristan Stubbs.

Q.4. Who is the best all-rounder in South Africa?

Answer: Jacques Kallis is considered the best all-rounder from South Africa, with his impressive record of 25,534 runs and 577 wickets across all three formats.

Q.5. Who is the greatest South African batsman?

Answer: Jacques Kallis, AB de Villiers, and Hashim Amla are often regarded as the greatest batsmen from South Africa, with Kallis leading in terms of runs and impact across formats.