Ireland Women find out their opponents for the ICC Women’s Championship 2022-2025

Cricket Ireland

Cricket Ireland

Author| May 25, 2:34 PM

PC: CricketIreland
PC: CricketIreland

The International Cricket Council (ICC) has today announced the 2022-2025 ICC Women’s Championship match-ups that form the qualification route to the ICC Women’s World Cup 2025. Ireland Women will host England, Australia, South Africa and Sri Lanka, while the squad will travel to play Pakistan, India, Bangladesh and the West Indies over the four-year cycle.

This is the first time that Ireland Women are part of the ICC Women’s Championship, and - along with fellow newcomers Bangladesh - will join Australia, England, India, New Zealand, Pakistan, South Africa, Sri Lanka and the West Indies as they fight it out for qualification to the 2025 ICC Women’s World Cup. The tournament hosts (yet to be announced), along with the top five sides in the Championship standings will earn direct entry, while the two remaining spots will be identified through a global qualifier.

The first fixtures for Ireland in the competition is a three-match One Day International (ODI) series against South Africa from 11-17 June at Clontarf Cricket Club. The ODI series will be preceded by a three-match T20 International series from 3-8 June at Pembroke Cricket Club.


Speaking on the news, Ireland Women’s captain Laura Delany said: “We're really looking forward to the championship starting. To have South Africa here on home soil first up is a brilliant opportunity for us. We know it'll be a bit of a challenge, but I think since the introduction of the full-time contracts it's allowed us to have more contact time with our coaches, Glenn [Querl] and Ed [Joyce], but also to spend more time going through video footage and looking at their strengths and weaknesses. We know South Africa are a quality side, but we're just itching to get out there now,”


“This has been an aim for the Irish women’s team, not just for the last 24 months, but since the introduction of the championship. Every team wants to be involved, the standard of cricket is growing and the only way as a team that you're going get better is if you're playing competitive cricket on a regular basis so to be included and to have the opportunity to play against these quality sides over the next few years is a brilliant opportunity for us.”


Having to play three series in the sub-continent the Irish captain is fully aware of the challenge: “It will be very tough, but it's a challenge that we welcome. As a team we haven't had an opportunity to go to those countries over the last few years due to COVID - we're a young side and playing in those conditions will definitely be different to playing in the likes of England or here, so it's something that we're looking forward to. It will be a great learning opportunity and we can't wait to play against those top-quality sides.”




The T20I and ODI dates are:


  • 3 June 2022: Ireland Women v South Africa Women – 1st T20I

  • 6 June 2022: Ireland Women v South Africa Women – 2nd T20I 

  • 8 June 2022: Ireland Women v South Africa Women – 3rd T20I 

  • 11 June 2022: Ireland Women v South Africa Women – 1st ODI

  • 14 June 2022: Ireland Women v South Africa Women – 2nd ODI 

  • 17 June 2022: Ireland Women v South Africa Women – 3rd ODI 

The three ODIs will be Ireland Women’s first fixtures as part of the ICC Women’s Championship.

  • IREW
  • SAW
  • IREW vs SAW 2022

Share News On

Read Next

More News