Aayush Mahajan ∙ Aug 4 2022, 11:26 AM

Ghani, Ibrahim's heroics bring home the bacon for Speen Ghar Tigers


As the Shpageeza Cricket League (SCL) 2022 marked its end, Speen Ghar Tigers (SGT) roared all the way to record a title-winning campaign, humbling Boost Defenders (BD) by six runs in the final of the tournament.

With Usman Ghani emerging as the leading man and Najibullah Zadran leading the finishing charge, Speen Ghar Tigers made their way to a total of 188 runs in the first innings.

Ibrahim Abdulrahimzai's two-fer outweighed the exceptional batting effort of Hashmatullah Shahidi as, despite the latter's 90-run knock, Boost Defenders plunged to 182-6, losing the clash by a margin of six runs.

Ibrahim, Izharulhaq bears the palm

Ibrahim and Izharulhaq rose in the Tigers' defence as both the bowlers mounted the pressure on the Defenders straightaway. With the wickets falling like ninepins and the run-rate not much either, SGT stood in the touching distance of glory.

However, a 62-run fourth-wicket stand between Shahidi and Afsar Zazai swayed the momentum a bit. While Shahidi held the fort and maintained a whopping strike rate throughout, regular dismissals at the other end pushed them further deep into the hole.

Abdul Rahman with his 13-ball 31 made the match alive in the last over. But with 26 still needed of the final six deliveries to cross the line, it was too much to ask for.

Eventually, BD crashed at 182/6 as SGT earned the crown with a six-run victory in the final encounter.

The Ghani-Zadran blitzkrieg 

Opting to bat, SGT cruised throughout with Ghani and Zadran playing the major roles. Ghani smashed a 53-ball 69 to set-up for a big total, while Zadran expeditiously gathered 43 runs to help the team post 188-4.

An 87-run partnership between Ghani and Abid Mohammadi for the second wicket also poised them nicely for what they set out to achieve after deciding to bat first.

Brief scores:

Speen Ghar Tigers - 188/4 (20)
Usman Ghani 69 (43), Najibullah Zadran 43 (22);
Zia-ur-Rehman 2-45 (4)

Boost Defenders - 182/6 (20)
Hashmatullah Shahidi 90 (55), Abdul Rahman 31* (13);
Ibrahim Abdulrahimzai 2-23 (4), Izharulhaq Naveed 2-35 (4)

Speen Ghar Tigers won by six runs

Read more: 'He is obviously short of runs,' Nasser Hussain backs Jason Roy to go big in the Hundred