New Zealand T20 Captain

Kane Williamson will lead New Zealand in T20 World Cup 2024Kane Williamson will lead New Zealand in T20 World Cup 2024

New Zealand's approach to T20 cricket leadership has often leaned towards stability and continuity, as evidenced by their tendency to offer extended tenures to their captains.

This strategy has allowed the team to develop under consistent leadership, enabling captains to imprint their style and philosophy over a prolonged period.

All T20 Captains of New Zealand

From Stephen Fleming, the pioneer of T20 captaincy for New Zealand, through to the dynamic Kane Williamson, the Kiwis have valued leadership continuity, which has been a cornerstone of their cricketing strategy.

In this article, we take a look at the captains who have helmed the New Zealand T20I side, how they have performed, and what their captaincy stats look like in this exciting format of cricket.

New Zealand’s T20 Captains 2005-2024

Tied/No Result
Win Percentage
Stephen Fleming5221/040.00
Daniel Vettori2813132/046.42
Brendon McCullum2813140/146.42
Ross Taylor13642/146.15
Kane Williamson7137321/152.11
Kyle Mills2110/050.00
Tim Southee291793/058.62
Mitchell Santner221280/254.54
Tom Latham13651/146.15
Michael Bracewell5220/140.00

Most Successful T20 Captain of New Zealand

Tim Southee is the most successful New Zealand T20I captainTim Southee is the most successful New Zealand T20I captain

Tim Southee, known for his swing bowling, ranks as the most successful T20 captain for New Zealand with a minimum of 10 matches. His captaincy, which spanned from 2017 to 2023, saw him leading in 29 matches with a win percentage of 58.62% (highest). 

The veteran bowler's tenure was highlighted by his ability to make bold decisions in critical situations, effectively using his resources, particularly in leveraging New Zealand's strong bowling lineup.

Under his guidance, the team demonstrated both aggression and tactical intelligence, achieving a balance that translated into significant successes on the field. 

He is now a part of the New Zealand T20I team as a player and will play under Kane Williamson’s captaincy in the T20 World Cup 2024.

All T20 Captains of New Zealand: FAQ's

Q.1. Who is in the New Zealand T20 squad?

Answer: The New Zealand T20 squad includes: Kane Williamson (C), Finn Allen, Trent Boult, Michael Bracewell, Mark Chapman, Devon Conway, Lockie Ferguson, Matt Henry, Daryl Mitchell, Jimmy Neesham, Glenn Phillips, Rachin Ravindra, Mitchell Santner, Ish Sodhi, Tim Southee.

Q.2. Who is the current ODI captain of New Zealand?

Answer: Kane Williamson is the current ODI captain of New Zealand.

Q.3. Who is the best T20 batsman in New Zealand?

Answer: Martin Guptill is the top T20 batsman for New Zealand with 3531 runs in 122 matches.

Q.4. Who is the best batsman in New Zealand?

Answer: Kane Williamson, recognized for becoming the all-time leading run-scorer for New Zealand in Test cricket on 27 February 2023, is widely regarded as one of the greatest batsmen and captains from New Zealand.

Q.5. Has New Zealand won any ICC trophy?

Answer: Yes, New Zealand has won ICC trophies, including the Champions Trophy in 2000 and the inaugural World Test Championship in 2021 by defeating India in the final.