• Home
  • Match Hub
  • India To Bat First In Series Finale West Indies Make Couple Of Changes

India To Bat First In Series Finale; West Indies Make Couple Of Changes

image-ll9iuqgmHardik Pandya with Shai Hope (AP Photo)

For the series finale at Florida's Lauderhill, Hardik Pandya won the coin flip for India, electing to bat first in the fifth T20I of the series against West Indies. The Men In Blue have decided to hold with the winning combination. Meanwhile, the West Indies captain Rovman Powell elected to gamble with some changes in the virtual finale.

Alzarri Joseph and Roston Chase - who got dropped for the fourth T20I - have been brought back into the playing lineup. At the same time, the left-arm seamer Obed McCoy and all-rounder Odean Smith have been asked to sit out.

This match will be played at the old strip, touted to be a spin-friendlier one, supporting West Indies' decision to field two spinners. Meanwhile, the Indians already have three full-time spinners in their ranks, and part-time off-spinner Tilak Varma could also get an opportunity to rotate his arm later in the evening.

Talking about opportunities, Sanju Samson - who hasn't got too many chances in this T20I leg - could be seen batting up the order.

WI vs IND, 5th T20I: Playing 11s

India: Shubman Gill, Yashasvi Jaiswal, Tilak Varma, Suryakumar Yadav (vc), Sanju Samson (wk), Hardik Pandya (c), Axar Patel, Yuzvendra Chahal, Kuldeep Yadav, Arshdeep Singh, Mukesh Kumar.

West Indies: Kyle Mayers (vc), Brandon King, Shai Hope (wk), Nicholas Pooran, Rovman Powell (c), Shimron Hetmyer, Romario Shepherd, Jason Holder, Roston Chase, Akeal Hosein, Alzarri Joseph