• Home
  • Match Hub
  • Controversy Around Bumrahs 100th T20i Wicket Brevis Fumes After Umpires Blunder

Controversy around Bumrah's 100th T20I wicket! Brevis fumes after umpire's blunder



Jasprit Bumrah controversy in 1st T20I - (Source: @Screengrab/X.com)Jasprit Bumrah controversy in 1st T20I - (Source: @Screengrab/X.com)

In the ongoing first T20I between India and South Africa at the Barabati Stadium in Cuttack, the Men in Blue registered a comprehensive win over the Proteas. Notably, India, batting first, put 175 runs on the board, courtesy Hardik Pandya's fifty.

In reply, the Rainbow Nation struggled to get going as it faltered to Jasprit Bumrah and Hardik Pandya's magic. Talking about Bumrah, the MI star bowler scripted a milestone as he completed 100 T20I wickets. 

Dewald Brevis' dismissal sparks massive controversy

The right-arm seamer reached his milestone in the 11th over of the match when he got Dewald Brevis out on the 2nd ball of the over. However, a massive controversy occurred following the dismissal, as the replay hinted that the 32-year-old overstepped on the dismissal delivery. 

The replay showed Bumrah's foot landing on the line, and the umpires actually went upstairs to have a closer look at the ball. Interestingly, while the officials were checking the delivery, Brevis had already made his way back to the dressing room. 

The third umpire too aligned with the on-field umpires and displayed 'OUT' on the big screen. It led to a debate because further replays showed that Bumrah had nothing behind the line. 

The internet was divided and also bashed the BCCI and the third umpire for not checking enough angles before giving Brevis out. It led to widespread criticism.

ICC rules explained regarding no-ball

ICC rules on overstepping (front foot no-ball) require some part of the bowler's front foot to land behind the popping crease, either grounded or in the air, when they deliver the ball; if the entire foot lands beyond the crease, it's a no-ball, penalised by one run plus the delivery must be re-bowled. 

It is said that the line belongs to the umpire, but in this case, the visuals and replays showed that no part of Jasprit Bumrah's foot was behind the crease, leading to a massive blunder.