• Home
  • Breaking News
  • Saim Ayub Included Shan Masood To Lead As Pakistan Name Squad For Australia Tests
Debashis Sarangi ∙ Updated: Nov 20 2023, 8:32 PM | 2 Min Read

Saim Ayub Included, Shan Masood To Lead As Pakistan Name Squad For Australia Tests

image-lp6u4a7pShan Masood will lead Pakistan in Tests []

In a significant development, Pakistan have named an 18-member squad for the upcoming Test series against Australia. Promising batter Saim Ayub has earned maiden Test call-up owing to his stellar performance in the domestic circuit. Veteran batter Shan Masood will lead the squad, which is an amalgamation of experience and youth. 

Babar Azam, who recently stepped down from captaincy, will spearhead the batting department alongside Abdullah Shafique, Salman Ali Agha, Saud Shakeel, Mohammad Rizwan and Imam-ul-Haq. Former skipper Sarfaraz Ahmed has also been included in the squad and could possibly make it into the playing XI due to his ability and experience. 

The bowling department features ace speedster Shaheen Shah Afridi alongside Mohammad Wasim Jr and renowned domestic talents Mir Hamza, Khurram Shahzad and Aamir Jamal. Hasan Ali, who represented Pakistan in the recently concluded World Cup, has also been included in the team. 

While Faheem Ashraf will play as the seam bowling all-rounder, with the likes of Abrar Ahmed and Noman Ali set to play as the spinners. 

Pakistan's Squad for Australia Tests

Shan Masood (C), Saim Ayub, Aamir Jamal, Abdullah Shafique, Babar Azam, Mohammad Rizwan (WK), Imam-ul-Haq, Sarfaraz Ahmed (WK), Shaheen Shah Afridi, Mohammad Wasim Jr, Mir Hamza, Khurram Shahzad, Hasan Ali, Faheem Ashraf, Noman Ali, Abrar Ahmed, Salman Ali Agha, Saud Shakeel