RCB Pacer Replaces Injured Shivam Mavi In India's Asian Games Squad

image-lmmce3n6Akash Deep (Source: X)

The Asian Games 2022, to be held in Hangzhou, China, will feature both Men's and Women's teams for the first time, where young Ruturaj Gaikwad and experienced Harmanpreet Kaur will lead their respective sides.

Talking about the teams, the men's team feature a relatively younger and inexperienced side as the first-choice players will be preparing for the World Cup, whereas the Women's team have all the primary side.

The BCCI (Board of Control for Cricket in India) had already announced the squad of both teams, however, injuries have caused some revision to the previous squad.

Pacer Shivam Mavi has suffered a back injury and won't be available for the event, and in his place, Royal Challengers Bangalore pacer Akash Deep has been drafted into the men's team.

In the women's team, stand-by player Pooja Vastrakar has been called into the side, replacing left-arm pacer Anjali Sarvani, who suffered a knee injury.

Other than these two, the squad remains the same, more or less, with the men's side featuring Yashasvi Jaiswal, Rahul Tripathi, Tilak Varm and Rinku Singh, to name a few, whereas the women's team includes the likes of Smriti Mandhana, Shafali Verma, Jemimah Rodrigues and Deepti Sharma.

The men's competition will begin on 28th September, while the women's competition will start a bit early on 19th September, with both of them concluding on 8th October.

What BCCI said in the Media Release

"The Men’s Selection Committee named Akash Deep as replacement for Shivam Mavi in the Indian squad for the 19th Asian Games Hangzhou 2022. Mavi is suffering from a back injury and is ruled out of the tournament. The men’s cricket competition will take place from 28th September to 8th October in a T20 format.

"Meanwhile, the Women’s Selection Committee named Pooja Vastrakar, who was earlier a part of the standby list of players, as replacement for Anjali Sarvani at the 19th Asian Games Hangzhou 2022.

"Sarvani, a left-arm pacer, suffered a knee injury and has been ruled out of the event, which will be held from 19th September to 8th October 2023 at Zhejiang University of Technology Pingfeng Cricket Field. The women’s cricket competition will take place from 19th-28th September 2023 in a T20 format."

Men's Updated Squad for Asian Games:

Ruturaj Gaikwad (Captain), Yashasvi Jaiswal, Rahul Tripathi, Tilak Varma, Rinku Singh, Jitesh Sharma (wk), Washington Sundar, Shahbaz Ahmed, Ravi Bishnoi, Avesh Khan, Arshdeep Singh, Mukesh Kumar, Shivam Dube, Prabhsimran Singh (wk), Akash Deep.

Standby Players: Yash Thakur, Sai Kishore, Venkatesh Iyer, Deepak Hooda, Sai Sudarsan.

Women's Updated Squad for Asian Games:

Harmanpreet Kaur (Captain), Smriti Mandhana (VC), Shafali Verma, Jemimah Rodrigues, Deepti Sharma, Richa Ghosh (wk), Amanjot Kaur, Devika Vaidya, Titas Sadhu, Rajeshwari Gayakwad, Minnu Mani, Kanika Ahuja, Uma Chetry (wk), Anusha Bareddy, Pooja Vastrakar.

Standby Players: Harleen Deol, Kashvee Gautam, Sneh Rana, Saika Ishaque.