Arnav Chopra ∙ Sep 16 2023, 9:37 PM | 2 Min Read

Tamim Iqbal, Mahmudullah & Soumya Sarkar Back in Bangladesh Squad for NZ ODI Series

image-lmm6okt2Soumya Sarkar (Source: X/ICC)

The experienced trio of Tamim Iqbal, Mahmudullah Riyad and Soumya Sarkar have found themselves back in the squad for the upcoming New Zealand ODI series after missing the ongoing Asia Cup 2023. Alongside many experienced players, including regular skipper Shakib Al Hasan has been rested, with Liton Das handed over the captaincy duties.

The Bangladesh Cricket Board (BCB) released the 15-member squad for the first two matches of the three-match series as opener Tamim has made his return following a back injury, which led him to take an extensive break from cricket.

Previously, Iqbal retired from international cricket but reversed his decision later, following which he left captaincy as well. Also, after missing the Asia Cup, there were doubts regarding his participation in the upcoming World Cup, which now looks right on track.

Talking about Mahmudullah, the right-hander was dropped from the side following his below-par show with the bat against England in March, following which there were speculations of him not getting any other chance in Bangladesh colours. However, another opportunity has come for him to prove his worth and play in the mega event.

Further, Soumya Sarkar and Nurul Hasan Sohan have also made their respective comebacks after not being considered for the past series. Adding to it, left-hander Zakir Hasan, pacer Khaled Ahmed, and leg-spinner Rishad Hossain are the new entrants in the squad.

Meanwhile, apart from Shakib, Mushfiqur Rahim, Mehedi Hasan Miraz, and the pace trio of Taskin Ahmed, Hasan Mahmud, and Shoriful Islam have also been given rest to ensure they remain fresh ahead of the marquee tournament.

Also, Naim Sheikh, Afif Hossain and Shamim Hossain have been dropped from the squad that took part in the Asia Cup.

Minhajul Abedin, Bangladesh's National Selection Panel Chairman, explained their decision to provide the rest in the following statement.

"The decision to rest players was taken in consideration of the World Cup in India, which will be a long tournament where ensuring the mental and physical fitness of the cricketers will be very important. The series against New Zealand provides us an opportunity to take a look at some other players as well ahead of this major event."

The first ODI of the series will be played on 21st September at Shere Bangla National Stadium, Dhaka.

Bangladesh Squad for 1st & 2nd ODI

Liton Das (captain), Tamim Iqbal, Soumya Sarkar, Anamul Haque Bijoy, Tawhid Hridoy, Mahmudullah Riyad, Nurul Hasan Sohan, Sheikh Mahedi Hasan, Nasum Ahmed, Mustafizur Rahman, Tanzim Hasan Sakib, Tanzid Hasan Tamim, Zakir Hasan, Rishad Hossain, Khaled Ahmed.