India-SL umpire- (X.com)
The first ODI between India and Sri Lanka resulted in a tie after the Men in Blue failed to chase down one run with two wickets in hand.
The fans were unhappy as there was no winner, and they expected a super over. Usually, when a game ends on level terms, the game goes down to a super-over, but even the viewers were surprised to see no super-over being played after the first ODI.
There were claims that the rules suggest that a super-over is played only in T20Is and not ODIs. But did the umpires actually make a blunder by not pushing for a super over? Check out the official rules for a super-over.
Rules For A Super-Over In ODIs
Report from Wisdon stated that even the latest rules for ODIs suggest that a match ending in a tie has to go for a super-over to decide a winner.
According to the latest ICC Men’s ODI Playing Conditions, which came to effect in December 2023, stated that “a Super Over shall be played in case of a tied match.
"If the Super Over is a tie, then unless exceptional circumstances arise subsequent Super Overs shall be played until there is a winner. Should it not be possible to play or complete the Super Overs needed to determine a winner, the match shall be tied.”
"Clause 16.3.1.1 states that all men’s ODIs that end in a tie will end with a Super Over unless it is not feasible to play them.
Meanwhile, no rain or any other external factor caused a hindrance for a super over to not happen. Thus, there should have been a super-over.