Mohammad Amir To Return? Here's Quetta Gladiators Probable XI vs Islamabad United

Mohammad Amir (L) had been dropped from Gladiators' playing XI []Mohammad Amir (L) had been dropped from Gladiators' playing XI []

Quetta Gladiators are set to take on Islamabad United in their next league stage encounter of the Pakistan Super League (PSL) 2024 on Saturday (March 2) in Rawalpindi. 

Placed second in the standings after four wins in their first five matches, the Gladiators are striving for another victory that would bolster their quest to cement a place in the PSL 2024 playoffs.

Heading into the next clash, however, the Gladiators could have an issue to ponder about their playing XI. Despite winning a thriller against the Karachi Kings in their last game, the Gladiators might consider whether they should retain their combination that came out triumphant at the National Stadium in Karachi.

The discussions would revolve around the fast-bowling department and whether the former champions should retain the expensive and declining Sohail Khan or replace him with their big-name exclusion and former Pakistan speedster Mohammad Amir.

The Gladiators surprised fans and experts by dropping Amir for the match against the Kings and giving Sohail, well past his prime, a comeback. The decision was based on Amir's struggles in the previous games, with the left-arm pacer conceding runs at 8.62 an over in the first four outings and taking only 4 wickets. But it also exposed the aging state of 39-year-old Sohail, who went for 0/36 off his three unthreatening overs.

Amir might be the beneficiary of a pace swap this time and return to the playing XI against the United franchise. The pacer could come in handy with his ability to move the ball both ways against United's explosive openers, Colin Munro and Alex Hales, both of whom are vulnerable against seams and swings early on.

Quetta Gladiators Probable XI vs Islamabad United 

Jason Roy, Saud Shakeel, Khawaja Nafay, Rilee Rossouw (c), Sarfaraz Ahmed (wk), Sherfane Rutherford, Akeal Hosein, Mohammad Wasim Jr, Mohammad Amir, Usman Tariq, Abrar Ahmed