• Home
  • Who Said What
  • Zak Crawley Drama At Lords Indian Commentators Apologise After Replay Shows Truth

Zak Crawley Drama At Lord’s; Indian Commentators Apologise After Replay Shows Truth



Indian commentator misjudge Zak Crawley [Source: @StarSportsIndia, @1sInto2s/X.com]Indian commentator misjudge Zak Crawley [Source: @StarSportsIndia, @1sInto2s/X.com]

The third day of the Lord's Test between India and England ended with a lot of drama and confusion. It all started when Zak Crawley pulled away twice during Jasprit Bumrah's over. As the situation escalated, and even Indian commentators questioned Crawley's intentions, only to later realise they had jumped to conclusions.

Things got heated at Lord’s Cricket Ground in the final few minutes of Day 3 of the third Test. England bowled out India for 387 runs, and with the scores levelled, the host team’s openers, Zak Crawley and Ben Duckett, had to survive a maximum of 2-3 overs.

However, Crawley’s theatrics led to a full-blown dramatic clash between the two sides.

Indian Commentator Forced To Apologise On Air For Misjudgment

The drama began when Zak Crawley pulled away from the crease just before Jasprit Bumrah bowled, claiming there was movement near the sight screen. 

Indian skipper Shubman Gill, clearly frustrated, shouted at Crawley, saying, “Grow some f***ing balls.” Two balls later, Crawley asked for the physio after being hit on the hand. He took off his glove and looked in pain, but Indian players weren’t convinced, nor were the commentators.

Indian commentators on JioStar Hindi also criticised Crawley, with Deep Dasgupta saying, “He removed his glove and called for the physio, but the ball didn’t even hit his hand."

 Another commentator Padamjeet Sehrawat asked, “Where did it hit him?” Varun Aaron, also on air, even mocked England’s aggressive Bazball approach, asking, “Kya hogaya Bazball ko?”

They accused Crawley of play-acting and wasting time to avoid facing the Indian bowlers. However, the situation took a turn when the replay clearly showed that the ball had hit Crawley’s left-hand fingertips. Realising his mistake, Sehrawat immediately apologised on air, saying, “Ohh, it did hit him. Sorry. Apologies. It did actually hit him."

After much delay caused by high-voltage drama between Indian fielders and England openers, only a single over was bowled in the third inning as the umpire called it stumps.