Sunrisers Hyderabad Captains

SRH's IPL 2016 winning captain David Warner with teammates (BCCI)SRH's IPL 2016 winning captain David Warner with teammates (BCCI)

Making their way into the storied arena of IPL in 2013, Sunrisers Hyderabad swiftly carved their niche as one of the formidable franchises of the tournament. At the helm of their success are some of their astute captains, among whom David Warner, the architect of their maiden title triumph, stood out prominently during the initial years of their journey.

Celebrating SRH’s meteoric rise in IPL, here at OneCricket, we take a look at each of their captains so far, along with their track record for the franchise.

Sunrisers Hyderabad Captains List

Tied/No Result
Winning Percentage
Kumar Sangakkara2013-2013 9441/0 50.00
Cameron White2013-2013 8530/0 62.50
Shikhar Dhawan2013-2014 1679
0/0 43.75
Daren Sammy2014-2014 4220/0 50.00
David Warner2015-2021 6735302/0 53.73
Kane Williamson2018-2022 4622231/048.91
Bhuvneshwar Kumar 2019-2023 8260/0 25.00
Manish Pandey2021-2021 1010/0 0.00
Aiden Markram 2023-202313490/0 30.76
Pat Cummins2024------

Sunrisers Hyderabad All Captains

Kumar Sangakkara (2013-2013)

Kumar Sangakkara led SRH in their inaugural season (2013-2013)Kumar Sangakkara led SRH in their inaugural season (2013-2013)

One of the two new franchises introduced in 2013, the SRH management appointed Sri Lankan legend Kumar Sangakkara as their first-ever captain. The franchise fared well under Sangakkara’s experience, defeating fellow newcomers Pune Warriors India in their tournament opener and setting up path of a remarkable playoffs berth by finishing fourth on the points table.

Cameron White (2013-2013)

Cameron White led SRH in seven games (2013-2013)Cameron White led SRH in seven games (2013-2013)

Belligerent Australian all-rounder and T20 heavyweight Cameron White served as Kumar Sangakkara’s deputy in SRH’s maiden IPL season back in 2013. White ended up leading the franchise in eight games after replacing Sangakkara as full-time skipper at the halfway stage of the tournament.

Leading the SRH to an impressive haul of five wins from his first seven matches as captain, his team eventually faltered in the Eliminator at the hands of Rajasthan Royals.

Shikhar Dhawan (2013-2014)

Shikhar Dhawan led SRH in just one season (2013-2014)Shikhar Dhawan led SRH in just one season (2013-2014)

Shikhar Dhawan oversaw SRH at the 2013 Champions League Twenty20 as well as the subsequent IPL 2014 season. The seasoned Indian opening batsman led the franchise 16 times in his year-long phase as captain, and even shared the leadership burden with West Indies legend Daren Sammy in the IPL.

Dhawan’s track record as SRH captain features seven wins, nine defeats, and two failures of reaching the knockout stage in each of his two tournament stints.

Daren Sammy (2014-2014)

Daren Sammy led SRH during the 2014 season (2014-2014)Daren Sammy led SRH during the 2014 season (2014-2014)

Amidst SRH’s dwindling campaign in IPL 2014, the team management appointed West Indies’ T20 World Cup winning skipper Daren Sammy as their new captain, replacing Shikhar Dhawan for the final four matches of the season.

Unfortunately for the franchise, Sammy’s short leadership stint yielded similar results as they failed to make it to the playoffs.

David Warner (2015-2021)

David Warner helped SRH win their only IPL title (2015-2021)David Warner helped SRH win their only IPL title (2015-2021)

Dashing Australian opener David Warner replaced Shikhar Dhawan as SRH’s new captain in IPL 2015. While the franchise failed to secure a playoffs berth for the second time in succession, Warner’s spirited guidance ensured the ‘Orange Army’ lifted its first-ever title the following season in 2016.

Retaining the role for 2017, SRH’s title-defense under the Australian cricketer was halted in the eliminator by KKR. He led them to yet another playoffs in 2020, but a disappointing 2021 season resulted in his sudden departure from the franchise.

Kane Williamson (2018-2022)

Kane Williamson led SRH for 4 years (2018-2022)Kane Williamson led SRH for 4 years (2018-2022)

In the absence of David Warner, New Zealand legend Kane Williamson guided the SRH into the finals of IPL 2018, where they were bested by MS Dhoni’s CSK to lose the title. He also led the ‘Orange Army’ to the playoffs of IPL 2019.

Williamson shared the captaincy role in 2021 and 2022, and was ousted as team leader following their bottom finish in both seasons. Overall, the ‘Black Caps’ veteran helmed SRH to 22 wins out of his 46 appearances as captain.

Bhuvneshwar Kumar (2019-2023)

Bhuvneshwar Kumar led SRH sporadically ( 2019-2023)Bhuvneshwar Kumar led SRH sporadically ( 2019-2023)

SRH’s seasoned speedster Bhuvneshwar Kumar sporadically led the franchise between IPL 2019 and IPL 2023 as SRH’s standby skipper. His  lukewarm returns as captain, yielding just two wins from eight fixtures, ensured that he was never entrusted with the responsibility of SRH’s full-time leadership by the team management.

Manish Pandey (2021-2021)

Manish Pandey led SRH for a couple of games only (2021-2021)Manish Pandey led SRH for a couple of games only (2021-2021)

Indian batsman Manish Pandey led the SRH franchise in their final match of the IPL 2021 season, when both senior members David Warner and Kane Williamson were rested from the playing XI. While Pandey blasted a 41-ball 69* to celebrate the occasion of his maiden SRH captaincy, his team fell to a 42-run larruping at the hands of Mumbai Indians in Abu Dhabi.

Regardless, the match continues to remain Pandey’s only outing as SRH skipper.

Aiden Markram (2023-2023)

Aiden Markram was the SRH skipper for 2023 season (2023-2023)Aiden Markram was the SRH skipper for 2023 season (2023-2023)

Off the back of two disappointing seasons, SRH management announced South African batsman Aiden Markram as their sole captain for IPL 2023. While the Proteas star drew much success for SRH’s South African subsidiary Sunrisers Eastern Cape in SA20, he failed to replicate his feat for the Hyderabad-based team.

Under his captaincy, SRH secured just four wins out of 14 league games and finished at the bottom of the 10-team IPL 2023 points ladder. However, he was eventually sacked as the leader ahead of 2024 season.

Pat Cummins (2024-)

Cummins was appointed as the SRH skipper ahead of IPL 2024Cummins was appointed as the SRH skipper ahead of IPL 2024

Australia’s World Cup 2023 winning captain Pat Cummins was roped in by the SRH franchise at the IPL 2024 auction for a staggering amount, making him the second costliest purchase at an IPL bidding event.

A couple of months later, the Australian pace maverick was entrusted with the leadership role of the franchise for IPL 2024.

Frequently Asked Questions (FAQs) About Sunrisers Hyderabad Captains

Q.1. Who has captained Sunrisers Hyderabad in the highest number of matches and what is their win percentage?

Answer: David Warner has captained the Sunrisers Hyderabad in the most number of matches, leading them in 67 games and holding a win percentage of 53.73.

Who is the captain of SRH?

Pat Cummins, the Australian captain has been given the responsibility to lead the SRH side for the 2024 season.

Who is the highest run-scorer for SRH?

David Warner is the highest run-scorer for SRH, having won the Orange Cap 3 times (2015, 2017, 2019).