• Home
  • Match Hub
  • Sri Lanka Scripts Unwanted Record After Shambolic 77 Vs Sa In T20 World Cup 2024

Sri Lanka Scripts 'Unwanted' Record After  Shambolic 77 Vs SA In T20 World Cup 2024

SL were folded for 77 vs SA (AP)SL were folded for 77 vs SA (AP)

Sri Lanka bundled out for just 77 against South Africa in their opening Group D match of the ongoing 2024 T20 World Cup. As many as seven Sri Lankan batters failed to reach double-digit scores, while captain Wanindu Hasaranga and middle-order batter Sadeera Samarawickrama were dismissed for ducks by Proteas spinner Keshav Maharaj.

Sri Lanka’s dismal batting effort at New York’s Nassau County International Stadium now marks their lowest ever T20I total in history, surpassing their 82-run act from 2016 against Team India at Visakhapatnam.

Sri Lanka records its lowest T20I total in T20 WC 2024

Prior to the match, Sri Lankan captain Wanindu Hasaranga won the toss and opted to bat first. After overcoming South Africa’s opening spell from Marco Jansen and Kagiso Rabada, Sri Lankan opener Pathum Nissanka mistimed one off Ottneil Baartman in the fourth over of the innings at 13-1.

South African spinner Keshav Maharaj accounted for the wickets of Wanindu Hasaranga and Sadeera Samarawickrama in quick succession while paceman Anrich Nortje tore through Sri Lanka’s middle-order with a sizzling four-wicket haul. In his return spell, Kagiso Rabada mopped up the tail to dust out Sri Lanka’s entire innings for just 77 in 19.1 overs.

Sri Lanka’s dismal batting effort in New York has now become their lowest-ever T20I total in history. Here is a look at an updated list of five of Sri Lanka’s all-time lowest completed totals across all T20 internationals.

Lowest all out scores for Sri Lanka in T20Is:

Runs by SL
Venue and Year
77South AfricaNew York, 2024
82India Visakhapatnam, 2016
87Australia Bridgetown, 2010
87India Cuttack, 2017
91England Southampton, 2021

In response, Sri Lanka’s new-ball pace duo of Nuwan Thushara and Dasun Shanaka also struck within their opening spells to account for the South African wickets of Reeza Hendricks and captain Aiden Markram respectively.