• Home
  • Match Hub
  • Rohit To Open With Kohli As India Invite Ireland To Bat First Kuldeep Jaiswal Samson Ignored

Rohit To Open With Kohli As India Invite Ireland To Bat First; Kuldeep, Jaiswal, Samson Ignored

Rohit Sharma won the toss vs IRE (X.com)Rohit Sharma won the toss vs IRE (X.com)

India captain Rohit Sharma won the toss against Ireland ahead of Match 8 of the ICC T20 World Cup 2024, to be held in New York on Wednesday, and opted to field first.

The Men in Blue dropped Sanju Samson, Kuldeep Yadav, Yashasvi Jaiswal, and Yuzvendra Chahal who missed out on the playing XI from their main squad.

This also means Rohit will open with Kohli for the first time at an ICC event.

For Ireland, skipper Paul Stirling wanted to have a bowl first as well. The Irish side doesn’t have any surprises in their line-up, as they keep faith in their strong core with the aim of producing an upset.

India will have five fast bowling options, with Jasprit Bumrah, Mohammed Siraj, and Arshdeep Singh pairing with Hardik Pandya and Shivam Dube. Among spinners, Ravindra Jadeja and Axar Patel will be the spinners, as India opt for a deep batting lineup in their tournament opener.

IND vs IRE: Playing XIs

India XI: Rohit Sharma (c), Virat Kohli, Rishabh Pant (wk), Suryakumar Yadav, Shivam Dube, Hardik Pandya, Ravindra Jadeja, Axar Patel, Jasprit Bumrah, Arshdeep Singh, Mohammed Sira

Ireland XI: Paul Stirling (c), Andrew Balbirnie, Lorcan Tucker (wk), Harry Tector, Curtis Campher, George Dockrell, Gareth Delany, Mark Adair, Barry McCarthy, Joshua Little, Ben White