• Home
  • Match Hub
  • Netherlands Announces Odi Squad For Zimbabwe South Africa Tour
Anurag Dasgupta ∙ Mar 6 2023, 4:20 PM | 2 Min Read

Netherlands Announces ODI Squad for Zimbabwe, South Africa Tour

image-lewp56e4Netherlands will play series against SA and ZIM [Twitter]

The Royal Netherlands Cricket Board on Monday, announced their squad for the upcoming white-ball tour of Zimbabwe and South Africa. The tour will be a part of Netherland's final CWC Super League fixtures.

It includes a three-match series against Zimbabwe in Harare, and will play the remaining two matches from their Covid-hit series against South Africa.

Scott Edwards will lead the Dutch side and this will be his first away assignment as the Netherlands skipper, having taken over the captaincy reigns from Pieter Seelar last year.

However, the team will again miss a number of key players for the series, which could hamper their preparations. Tim Pringle and Logan van Beek will miss the tour due to the commitment towards their participation in the New Zealand domestic competitions.

Brandon Glover and Bas de Leede have been signed by English county Durham, and as a result will miss the series. Ryan Cook's services will also be missed, owing to his commitment towards his IPL franchise.

However, Roelof van der Merwe, who missed the majority of the Dutch home season last year makes a return to the side, alongside Tom Cooper, who played for Netherlands after a six-year gap last year.

The last two ODI matches, taking place between Netherlands and South Africa is crucial for the Proteas, as they seek direct qualification for the 2023 50-over World Cup.

However, the Netherlands team cannot directly qualify for the World Cup, and will have to go through a qualifying round.

Netherlands Squad vs Zimbabwe: Scott Edwards (c) (w), Max O'Dowd, Vikram Singh, Colin Ackermann, Bas de Leede, Teja Nidamanuru, Roelof van der Merwe, Musa Nadeem Ahmad, Tom Cooper, Shariz Ahmad, Brandon Glover, Vivian Kingma, Fred Klaassen, Ryan Klein, Paul van Meekeren.

Netherlands Squad vs South Africa: Scott Edwards (c) (w), Max O'Dowd, Vikram Singh, Teja Nidamanuru, Tom Cooper, Roelof van der Merwe, Musa Nadeem Ahmad, Wesley Barresi, Aryan Dutt, Shariz Ahmad, Vivian Kingma, Fred Klaassen, Ryan Klein, Paul van Meekeren.