• Home
  • Cricket News
  • This 21 Year Old Pakistan All Rounder Replaces Mohammad Hasnain In Asian Games

'This' 21-Year Old Pakistan All-Rounder Replaces Mohammad Hasnain In Asian Games

image-lmz110vfHasnain will miss the 2023 Asian Games. (X.com) 

The Pakistan Cricket Board (PCB) has announced the inclusion of all-rounder Mubasir Khan in the Pakistan Shaheens squad for the 19th Asian Games, taking place in Hangzhou, China, from September 28 to October 7. 

Mubasir's selection follows the unfortunate exclusion of right-arm pacer Mohammad Hasnain, who has not fully recovered from an ankle injury. 

Mubasir, a promising 21-year-old talent, is still relatively new to the cricketing circle, having participated in only 29 first-class matches, 39 List A games, and 30 T20 fixtures in his career till now. 

His versatility as a batting all-rounder has been on display in the T20 format, where he has made valuable contributions with both bat and ball. With the bat, he has accumulated 242 runs, while his bowling prowess has seen him claim eight wickets, with a best bowling performance of 2/21.

The men's cricket games at the 19th Asian Games will be played in the T20 format, presenting an opportunity for Mubasir Khan and the Shaheens to shine on the continental stage. 

Pakistan Shaheens' campaign will commence at the quarter-finals stage, scheduled for October 3 and 4, and should they progress, the semi-finals will unfold on October 6. The summit clash of the tournament, the final, is set for October 7, where teams will vie for the gold medal. Furthermore, the day will also witness a battle for the bronze medal, like it happened in the Women's cricket games.

It's worth noting that Pakistan's men's cricket team made history in their debut appearance at the Asian Games in 2010 by securing a bronze medal. 

This time under the leadership of Qasim Akram, the Men in Green will be hoping to win the gold as they prepare for the challenge against the other Asian Giants like India and Bangladesh.

Pakistan Shaheens' updated squad for the 19th Asian Games: 

Qasim Akram (c), Omair Bin Yousuf (vc), Aamir Jamal, Arafat Minhas, Arshad Iqbal, Asif Ali, Haider Ali, Khushdil Shah, Mirza Tahir Baig, Muhammad Akhlaq (wk), Rohail Nazir, Shahnawaz Dahani, Sufiyan Muqeem, Usman Qadir, Mubasir Khan

Non-travelling reserves: Abdul Wahid Bangalzai, Mehran Mumtaz, Mohammad Imran Jnr, Muhammad Irfan Khan Niazi.