Sarfaraz Ahmed found guilty of breaching PCB's Code of Conduct

Sarfaraz Ahmed (PC: Twitter)

Former Pakistan skipper Sarfaraz Ahmed has been reprimanded for violation of the Pakistan Cricket Board (PCB)'s Code of Conduct for using audible obscenity during National T20 Cup 2022-23 match between Sindh and Balochistan. Ahmed was charged 30% of his fees for breaching level 1 of the Players and Player Support Personnel Protocol.

The 35-year-old accepted defiance of Article 2.3, which relates to the "Use of audible obscenity" that may be inappropriate to others present on the field. 

The said incident was recorded during the first innings of the match when Sarfaraz lost his wicket on 29 off a Kashif Bhatti delivery.

There was no requirement of hearing as the wicket-keeper batter admitted to the offence and agreed to receive the sanctions put forward by the match referee Nadeem Arshad. 

On-field umpires Mohammad Asif and Imtiaz Iqbal, third umpire Rashid Riaz and fourth umpire Nasir Hussain were the ones who asked to inflict those charges.

The match was held in Rawalpindi Cricket Stadium, where Balochistan walked away with five wickets, courtesy of Shan Masood's 53, which helped his side reach the target of 143 with seven balls to spare.

This is not the first time that Ahmed has been found guilty of using inappropriate language on the field, in 2020, he was fined for his comments against an umpiring decision in the Quaid-e-Azam Trophy.

Sarfaraz will be next seen in action against Khyber Pakhtunkhwa on 4th August at 2:30 PM.

Also Read: The Problems to mend for Pakistan