• Home
  • Breaking News
  • Sanju Samson Dube Jaiswal Out For First 2 T20is Vs Zim Harshit Rana 2 Others Named Replacement

Samson, Dube, & Jaiswal Released From ZIM Squad; Harshit Rana & 2 Others Named Replacement

Harshit Rana replaces Sanju Samson- (X.com)Harshit Rana replaces Sanju Samson- (X.com)

In recent developments, BCCI has made changes to the 15-member squad for the five-match T20I tour against Zimbabwe starting on July 6. The apex cricket board of India has added Harshit Rana, Sai Sudharshan, and Jitesh Sharma for the first 2 T20Is. 

The IPL heroes have replaced Sanju Samson, Yashasvi Jaiswal, and Shivam Dube in the squad, as the World Cup winning heroes are stuck in Barbados because of Cyclone 'Beryl', which has forced the airports to be shut. 

On Tuesday, July 2, BCCI took to Twitter to announce the changes to the upcoming squad. Notably, Samson, Jaiswal, and Dube, who were a part of India's T20 World Cup 2024 winning squad, were set to leave for Zimbabwe from Barbados, but the cyclone has put water to their plans. 

It is not the first change that BCCI made to the upcoming tour, as they earlier replaced Nitish Kumar Reddy with Shivam Dube, because the SRH star is currently injured. 

Talking about Sanju, Dube, and Jaiswal, they are likely to join the side from 3rd T20I onwards. 

It is a maiden India call-up for Harshit Rana, who has had a phenomenal IPL season with KKR. Rana took 19 wickets in 13 games and emerged as a key contributor behind KKR's title winning season. 

It is also Sudharsan's maiden India call-up in T20Is. He has represented the Men in Blue in ODIs, but his impressive numbers in IPL 2024 has forced the selectors to include him in the squad. Shubman Gill will lead India in this upcoming series. 

India's Update Squad

India's Squad: Shubman Gill (C), Ruturaj Gaikwad, Abhishek Sharma, Rinku Singh, Dhruv Jurel (WK), Riyan Parag, Washington Sundar, Ravi Bishnoi, Avesh Khan, Khaleel Ahmed, Mukesh Kumar, Tushar Deshpande, Sai Sudharsan, Jitesh Sharma (WK), Harshit Rana