• Home
  • Breaking News
  • Rohit Sharma Surpasses Martin Guptill To Become Leading Six Hitter In T20is

Rohit Sharma surpasses Martin Guptill to become leading six-hitter in T20Is


Rohit Sharma is now the leading six-hitter in T20Is | PC: Twitter

India captain Rohit Sharma overtook New Zealand's Martin Guptill to become the leading six-hitter in T20 Internationals. The batting maestro achieved the landmark in India’s second T20I against Australia at VCA Stadium in Nagpur.

The Indian captain was level with Guptill on 172 sixes before the second T20I and as soon as he smashed the first six in the second T20I against the defending T20I World Champions, Rohit became the leading six-hitter in the history of the format.

Sharma has smoked 176 sixes in 130 T20I innings thus far while Martin Guptill stands second in the chart with 172 sixes in 117 T20I innings. The top two are followed by Chris Gayle (124), Eoin Morgan (120), and Aaron Finch (119) who round up the top five. 

Most Sixes in T20Is: 

  • Rohit Sharma: 176 
  • Martin Guptill: 172
  • Chris Gayle: 124
  • Eoin Morgan: 120
  • Aaron Finch: 119 

The 35-year-old is also the leading six-hitter among Indians in T20 cricket with 454 maximums to his name. In international cricket, he stands second in the tally with 488 sixes and is only behind West Indies batting great Chris Gayle who has 551 sixes to his name.

The Nagpur-born is also the leading run-scorer in T20Is after he surpassed New Zealand's Martin Guptill's tally earlier this year. Currently, former India captain Virat Kohli is positioned second in this list with Guptill occupying the third spot.

As far as the match is concerned, Rohit Sharma flayed the Australian bowlers all around the park and played a flamboyant knock of uneaten 46 off just 20 balls to help India win the rain-curtailed second T20I against the visitors and level the series 1-1. 

The final and deciding T20I of the three-match series between Australia and India will be played at Rajiv Gandhi International Stadium, Hyderabad on Sunday, September 25.  

ALSO READ: Mickey Arthur wants Derbyshire to end County Championship 2022 on a high