• Home
  • Cricket News
  • Pathum Nissanka Ruled Out As Sri Lanka Announce Squad For The T20is Vs Bangladesh

Pathum Nissanka Ruled Out As Sri Lanka Announce Squad For The T20Is Vs Bangladesh

Nissanka will the T20I-leg of the Bangladesh tour. (X.com)Nissanka will the T20I-leg of the Bangladesh tour. (X.com)

Sri Lanka’s promising young opener Pathum Nissanka will miss the upcoming T20I series against Bangladesh due to a hamstring injury sustained during the home series against Afghanistan, as confirmed by Sri Lanka Cricket (SLC) while announcing the squad for the three-match series.

Initially, hopes were high for Nissanka's recovery in time for the tour. However, with the situation not progressing as expected, Nissanka has been replaced in the squad by Avishka Fernando.

Pathum Nissanka suffered a hamstring injury in the third T20I against Afghanistan. While the injury appears not to be severe, he continues to experience discomfort in his leg. As a result, the young Sri Lankan batter will be sidelined for the entire series after retiring hurt during the Afghanistan series last month.

Wanindu Hasaranga will remain the team's leader but will sit out the first two matches following his suspension for violating the ICC Code of Conduct. Charith Asalanka will lead in his absence. Additionally, Dushmantha Chameera will be absent from the series as he recuperates from an injury sustained during the Afghanistan series. Asitha Fernando has been drafted in as his replacement.

The remainder of the squad remains unchanged from the one that competed against Afghanistan, with Jeffrey Vandersay included as the additional member in the 17-man squad.

The tour kicks off with the three-match T20I series scheduled for the 4th, 6th, and 9th of March at Sylhet.

Sri Lanka squad for the T20I series vs Bangladesh:

Wanindu Hasaranga (C), Charith Asalanka (VC), Avishka Fernando, Kusal Mendis, Kusal Perera, Angelo Mathews, Dasun Shanaka, Dhananjaya de Silva, Sadeera Samarawickrama, Kamindu Mendis, Maheesh Theekshana, Akila Dananjaya, Nuwan Thushara, Matheesha Pathirana, Binura Fernando, Jeffrey Vandersay, Dilshan Madushanka.