• Home
  • Cricket News
  • Kohli Out Captain Rohit In Icc Announces Team Of The Tournament For T20 Wc 2024

Kohli Out, Captain Rohit In; ICC Announces Team Of The Tournament For T20 WC 2024

Six Indian players made the cut (AP Photo)Six Indian players made the cut (AP Photo)

The T20 World Cup 2024 witnessed a month of remarkable cricket, highlighted by many standout performances from the teams and players. 

On Sunday evening, the International Cricket Council unveiled the official Team of the Tournament, which includes six players from the current champions, India.

The tournament was filled with surprises, notably the early exits of Pakistan, Australia, New Zealand, and the West Indies. The final was equally riveting, with an undefeated South Africa falling to an inspired Indian team, who claimed their second World T20 title in Barbados.

No Kohli but 6 Indian stars in Team of the Tournament

The Indian players selected for the ICC's Team of the Tournament include Rohit Sharma, Suryakumar Yadav, Hardik Pandya, Axar Patel, Jasprit Bumrah, and Arshdeep Singh. Alongside them, three players from Afghanistan made the cut.

Unsurprisingly, Virat Kohli was not included in the lineup, having managed only one half-century throughout the tournament. Other notable exclusions are Jos Buttler, Heinrich Klaasen, Quinton de Kock, and Adil Rashid.

Joining the Indian players in the lineup are Rahmanullah Gurbaz, the tournament's top scorer, Nicholas Pooran, Marcus Stoinis, Rashid Khan, and Fazalhaq Farooqi. Anrich Nortje, South Africa’s leading wicket-taker, was named as the team’s 12th man.

In the lineup, Rohit Sharma and Rahmanullah Gurbaz open the batting, with Nicholas Pooran at number three. 

The middle order consists of Suryakumar Yadav, Marcus Stoinis, and Hardik Pandya at positions 4, 5, and 6 respectively. Axar Patel and Rashid Khan are the chosen spin-bowling options. 

The pace attack includes Jasprit Bumrah, Arshdeep Singh, and Fazalhaq Farooqi, completing the formidable lineup.

ICC Team of the Tournament

Rohit Sharma (C), Rahmanullah Gurbaz (WK), Nicholas Pooran, Suryakumar Yadav, Marcus Stoinis, Hardik Pandya, Axar Patel, Rashid Khan, Jasprit Bumrah, Arshdeep Singh, Fazalhaq Farooqi, Anrich Nortje (12th man)