• Home
  • Who Said What
  • Rohit Kohli Will Be Extra Motivated Former Cricketer Backs India To Win T20 World Cup

'Rohit, Kohli Will Be Extra Motivated...': Former Cricketer Backs India To Win T20 World Cup

Rohit Sharma and Virat Kohli during a Team India training session (AP)Rohit Sharma and Virat Kohli during a Team India training session (AP)

Former Indian cricketer Mohammad Kaif believes Rohit Sharma and Virat Kohli will be extra motivated to win the forthcoming T20 World Cup 2024 in the West Indies and United States.

The Board of Control for Cricket in India (BCCI) recently announced India’s 15-player squad for the tournament which featured the retention of Sharma as captain. Contrary to the earlier claims, Kohli also a found a spot in the travelling Indian group.

Kaif says Sharma, Virat Kohli to be “extra motivated”

While speaking on the Star Sports network, former Indian cricketer Mohammad Kaif said that both Virat Kohli and captain Rohit Sharma are nearing their retirement age and the upcoming T20 World Cup 2024 serves a huge opportunity for them to win an ICC trophy at the twilight of their careers.

Kaif further stated that the two legendary batters will also be “extra motivated” to win the tournament to make amends for their 2023 World Cup final defeat to Australia. He said:

“Rohit Sharma knows that he won’t be playing for long, maybe for the next 2 to 3 years. Virat Kohli is also on the same path. It’s a big opportunity for Rohit as a captain. He lost ODI World Cup final after the match was in India’s hands. He was broken, fans were heartbroken. Despite winning 10 matches, India lost 1 match. I hope the situation isn’t the same in the T20 World Cup.”

“Rohit Sharma and Virat Kohli would be extra motivated. They would know that their future is uncertain. It’s a time when the players are in form, having played in the IPL. And I believe that it’s a great chance for them to rectify the mistakes they made against Australia.”

As of now, both Rohit Sharma and Virat Kohli are playing their trades for their respective franchises in the Indian Premier League (IPL 2024) season.