Top Five Batters With Most Centuries In T20Is

image-lpjqxxa8Rohit Sharma is the only Indian with four T20I hundreds to his name. (ICC)

In the last decade or so, the T20 format has undeniably shaped the cricketing landscape. Beyond its commercialization through franchise leagues, T20 cricket has also ushered the new T20 globetrotters. In a game where rapid run-scoring is paramount, achieving a century stands as the pinnacle for a batter. While scoring a hundred in T20I cricket was once considered a remarkable feat, the evolution of the game, flatter pitches, and refined batting techniques have made centuries more attainable than a decade ago.

Given the short nature of T20 matches, scoring a century demands considerable effort, requiring aggressive intent from the very first ball and a resolute mindset. While many players have achieved the milestone of a T20I century, only a selected individuals have made it look effortless. 

It is well known that T20 cricket has not only altered the dynamics of the game but has also presented challenges for bowlers. The modern batter, fueled by aggression and adaptability, has found ways to navigate these challenges, making centuries in the format relatively more accessible.

As the game continues to evolve, scoring a hundred in T20Is remains a dream of many current and budding cricketers. The upcoming years will likely witness more remarkable innings and centuries, as batters continue to push the boundaries of what's achievable in this dynamic and electrifying format of the game.

It was all started by West Indies legend Chris Gayle, who scored the first T20I hundred-117 against South Africa during the first ICC T20 World Cup in 2007.

Since then, a total of 131 centuries have been recorded in T20Is. While numerous players have notched up one century, only a handful have reached the three-figure mark on multiple occasions.

Australian all-rounder Glenn Maxwell and Indian skipper Rohit Sharma lead the charts with four T20I centuries each. Additionally, four players have secured three T20I centuries. In this listicle, we list down the players with the most number of centuries in T20I cricket.

Colin Munro (3 T20I hundreds in 62 innings)

image-lpjsugg1Colin Munro(

Left-handed top-order batter Colin Munro from New Zealand holds the fifth position in the list of batters with the most centuries in T20I cricket. Munro stands as the sole Black Caps batter with three T20I hundreds. Once ranked as the number one T20I batter, Munro has showcased his prowess in 65 T20Is, accumulating a total of 1724 runs, including three centuries and 11 half-centuries. 

His maiden century, a remarkable 101 off 54 balls, was achieved against Bangladesh in 2017. Following this, Munro recorded his second hundred, an unbeaten 109 off 58, against India in the same year. His third century was secured in 2018 against the West Indies, where he smashed 104 off 53 deliveries.

Suryakumar Yadav (3 T20I Hundreds in 53 innings)

image-lpjsvf6pSuryakumar Yadav (AP)

In just two years, Suryakumar Yadav has established himself as a formidable force in the international arena particularly in T20Is, boasting three centuries in 56 matches. SKY stands out as a tailor-made player for the format, achieving this milestone faster than any other player from a test-playing nation. 

Currently, Suryakumar holds the number one spot in the ICC T20I rankings, with his first century, a score of 117 off 55 balls against England in 2022, followed by an unbeaten 111 off 51 against New Zealand in the same year. His third century, an unbeaten 112 off 51, was recorded against Sri Lanka in 2023. With his consistent performances, if he surpasses Rohit Sharma and Glenn Maxwell in the near future, it would come as no surprise.

Sabawoon Davizi (3 T20I Hundreds in 31 innings)

image-lpjqr7mrSabawoon Davizi (Ap photos)

Czech Republic's dynamic all-rounder Sabawoon Davizi holds the third position in the list of batters with the most centuries in T20I cricket. Remarkably, Davizi has achieved the title of the fastest batter globally to score three T20I hundreds. He accomplished this feat in just 25 innings, surprising many cricket enthusiasts. 

With a total of 31 innings played, Davizi has amassed 1149 runs at an impressive average and strike rate of 41.03 and 138.93, respectively. His notable centuries include scores of 101 against Malta, 115 against Bulgaria, and an unbeaten 111 against Austria.

Rohit Sharma (4 T20I Hundreds in 140 innings)

image-lpjt2olcRohit Sharma (Twitter)

Rohit Sharma has consistently showcased his prolific run-scoring ability in T20Is since entering international cricket. His reputation as a formidable white-ball batter was notably solidified during the 2016 Australia tour. Currently, he stands as the second-highest run-scorer in the format, amassing an impressive total of 3853 runs in 140 innings.

In the year 2018, the 'Hitman' etched his name in history by becoming the first batter to achieve the remarkable feat of scoring four T20I centuries. Beyond this milestone, he also boasts the record for the joint second-fastest T20I century, achieved in a mere 35 balls. His century-scoring spree unfolded against various opponents, including South Africa in 2015, Sri Lanka in 2017, England in 2018, and the West Indies in 2018. Across these innings, he posted scores of 106, 118, 100*, and 111* respectively, further enhancing his reputation as one of the best in the T20I arena.

Glenn Maxwell (4 T20I Hundreds in 92 innings)

image-lpjsx98tGlenn Maxwell (Ap photos)

Marking a record-breaking century in Guwahati on November 28, 2023, Glenn Maxwell has now matched Rohit as the player with the most T20I hundreds. In a significant run-chase of 223, the 'Big Show' displayed his ruthless best, and his innings of 104* played a pivotal role in Australia's victory.

This marks Maxwell's fourth T20I century, placing him on par with Aaron Finch and Josh Inglis for the fastest hundred by an Australian in the format. His inaugural century was achieved against Sri Lanka in 2016, where he crafted an unbeaten 65-ball 145. Maxwell continued his T20I century spree with a 58-ball unbeaten 103 against England in 2018. The third addition to his T20I hundreds came against India in 2019, when he notched an unbeaten 113 from 55 balls. Notably, Maxwell achieved his three centuries in just 92 innings, surpassing Rohit Sharma and claiming the top spot on the list.