• Home
  • Top Most
  • Top 5 Most Runs Conceded By An Indian Bowler In T20is

Top 5 Most Runs Conceded By An Indian Bowler In T20Is

image-lpjrzr5pPrasidh Krishna records the worst bowling figures by an Indian in the T20Is

In modern-day cricket, the batters are playing the sport fearlessly and smashing a truckload of runs even in the shortest format of the game. Due to the fierceness and fearlessness of the batters, the bowlers sometimes have to pay for their fiery nature.

With the aggregate totals of the T20I games now reaching over 250, the bowlers are having a hard time on the field. Last night during the clash between India and Australia, Aaron Hardie from Australia and Prasidh Krishna from India, both went for loads of runs and had a tough time in Guwahati.

With this spell, Prasidh Krishna recorded the worst T20I figures by an Indian. Let's have a look at the top 5 Indian bowlers who conceded the most runs in a T20I game.

Prasidh Krishna - 0/68 vs Australia (2023)*

image-lpjs0lc5Prasidh Krishna (X.com)

The right-arm fast bowler, Prasidh Krishna has been playing for the Indian team for a while now. He made his international debut in the shortest format in August 2023 against Ireland. He is known for bowling hard lengths and good slower ones and has performed quite well in the IPL. 

In the ongoing T20I series between India and Australia, Prasidh Krishna is having a hard time against the Aussies. In the three games so far, his economy has been over 10 and last night, he recorded the worst figures by an Indian in the T20Is by conceding 68 runs in his four overs. He gave 39 runs in the first two overs and 29 in the last two in front of Glenn Maxwell. 

Yuzvendra Chahal - 0/64 vs South Africa (2018)

image-lpjs2hp4Yuzvendra Chahal (X.com)

Yuzvendra Chahal is known to be one of the best bowlers in the shortest format. He has been taken for runs quite a few times, but that's what the leg-spinners are known for, to keep an open heart and bowl on your lengths, which eventually makes them pick loads of wickets. 

During India's tour to South Africa 2018, Chahal had an amazing time in the ODI series but had a bad day during the second T20I game. He went for 64 runs, where Heinrich Klaasen smacked him for five sixes in his four-overs spell. 

Arshdeep Singh - 2/62 vs South Africa (2022)

image-lpjs3ckwArshdeep Singh [Ap photos]

The left-arm seam bowler, Arshdeep Singh is known for his speed and swing during the initial stages of the game. He has been in the scheme of things for the Indian team for a while now and even featured in the 2022 T20I World Cup. 

In the series against South Africa, Arshdeep Singh became a bunny for David Miller and Quinton De Kock, who smashed 106 and 69 respectively. He also took two wickets but recorded one of the worst figures by an Indian in the shortest format by giving 62 runs in four overs. 

Joginder Sharma - 0/57 vs England (2007)

image-lpjs6qq2Joginder Sharma (X.com)

Joginder Sharma, who is also known as the hero of the T20 World Cup 2007 winning team, is a part of this unwanted record. His career could not span for a longer duration but he is remembered as the hero that helped India win the T20 World Cup. 

During the same tournament, in the most famous match, where Yuvraj Singh smashed six sixes against Stuart Broad, the England team did everything they could to chase 218 runs but fell 18 short. In the process, Joginder went for 57 runs and could not pick a wicket as well. 

Krunal Pandya - 0/55 vs Australia (2018)

image-lpjs8fhyKrunal Pandya (X.com)

The India tour of Australia in 2018 was one of the memorable tours for the Indian team and the fans as India managed to win the Test series in Australia. The Aussies gave a tough fight to the Indian team in the thrilling T20I series. 

Krunal Pandya was just settling into the team as he made his international debut in the same year. In a rain-affected first T20I, the Australian batters took on the newcomer, Krunal Pandya, who gave away 55 runs without picking up a wicket in his four overs spell. This became one of the worst spells for an Indian in the history of T20Is.