Vishal Mehra ∙ Updated: May 19 2023, 5:10 PM | 4 Min Read

From MS Dhoni to Sanju Samson: Famous Indian Cricketers Who Are Fan Favourites in IPL

image-lhixauzzMS Dhoni is leading CSK since 2008 [Source: Twitter]

The inception of the Indian Premier League (IPL) back in 2008, brought limelight to India's domestic talent, that were waiting to make their presence felt on the big stage. Coupled with India winning the inaugural T20 World Cup in 2007, the anticipation and fanfare surrounding the IPL was immense. In the 16 editions of the IPL, both international and Indian cricketers have gained instant success or have fallen down the pecking order, given their performances.

However, over the years, India's premier domestic T20 league has garnered an audience like no other, which is thanks to the inclusivity of national team players, who attract most of the eyeballs. 

In this list, let's read into who are the Indian cricketers that have the most fan following in the IPL, despite having played for various franchises, or even just one.

Mahendra Singh Dhoni

image-lhiye1iuMS Dhoni [Source: Twitter]

One of the greatest minds of the game, Chennai Super Kings skipper MS Dhoni to date pulls audiences into the stadiums like no other player Indian or international. Dhoni's known for his explosive hitting caught the eye of the world in the first season itself, and since then has shown no signs of stopping.

Under Dhoni, CSK has won four IPL titles and two Champions League T20 trophies.

Virat Kohli

image-lhixd4myVirat Kohli [Source: Twitter]

Despite being unable to win an IPL trophy, Kohli remains as one of the most cherished Indian players in the league. The former RCB skipper's aggression and passion to win on the field spurs everyone around, which can at times lead to trouble.

Kohli is the leading run-getter in the history of the IPL with 7,044 runs and also has to his name the record for scoring the most runs in a single season (973).

Rohit Sharma

image-lhixecbvRohit Sharma [Source: Twitter]

The most successful IPL captain, Mumbai Indians Rohit Sharma is a crowd favourite. Sharma is known for his lazy elegance which on any day can demolish bowling lineups. Interestingly, the Indian captain also has the most number of ducks (16).

Sharma in all has six IPL trophies, with five coming as skipper, and two Champions League T20 titles.

Suryakumar Yadav

image-lhixkgi1Suryakumar Yadav [Source: Twitter]

A product of the IPL, Suryakumar Yadav has taken the international arena by storm. Yadav has reinvented how T20 cricket is played, given his own take on AB de Villiers' 360-degree approach. Yadav with his lap shots and scoops have ensured the new 'V' is now behind the batter, unlike textbook cricket.

Suresh Raina

image-lhixqlk1Suresh Raina [Source: Twitter]

Chennai Super Kings 'Chinna Thalla' Suresh Raina continues to attract fans, despite bidding adieu to the game last year. Raina widely known as Mr. IPL for his consistency, remains the only player to score 300+ runs in all IPL seasons.

The left-handed batter won four IPL titles with CSK.

Shikhar Dhawan

image-lhixluo5Shikhar Dhawan [Source: Twitter]

The ever-smiling Shikhar Dhawan has been in the IPL since its inception and is currently leading the Punjab Kings franchise (PBKS). Dhawan in his long IPL career has played for as many as five teams and is sitting handsomely second on the list of most run-getters in IPL.

Dhawan, who is known for his exquisite stroke-play has struck the most fours in IPL (748).

Ravindra Jadeja

image-lhixqz5jRavindra Jadeja [Source: Twitter]

Unearthed by the great Shane Warne, Ravindra Jadeja has made a name for himself as an all-rounder in IPL. Starting off as a bowler, Jadeja was a member of the Rajasthan Royals, who won the inaugural edition of the league and then blossomed under MS Dhoni at Chennai Super Kings. 

Known for wielding his bat as a sword, Jadeja's electric fielding only adds to his fable. 

Sanju Samson

image-lhiyoetoSanju Samson [Source: Twitter]

A Rajasthan Royals prodigy, Sanju Samson is one of the most beloved cricketers in India. Samson, who is soft-spoken is known for his belligerent batting approach, which has captivated fans all over for years.

The Kerala-born almost became the second RR captain to win the IPL after Warne, who achieved it back in 2008. Such is Samson's craze, that there is hardly any city in India that does not have his fan club.